Quinoa Porridge with Banana!

29 Dec

Remember my Merry Try-smas post?  What a clever little name for a post.  By George, it’s genius!  Anyhoo, enough about my marvelous wit.  Within that post I stated that I would be making quinoa for breakfast in the Christmas holidays and today that little mission was completed!

I present you with my recipe for Quinoa Porridge with Banana!  Enjoy!

Ingredients (serves 1)

1/4 cup of rinsed quinoa

3/4 cup of almond milk (you can use any type of milk you prefer)

1/4 cup of water

1 teaspoon of brown sugar

1 drop of vanilla extract

Place your rinsed quinoa in a medium sized pot.

Add the almond milk and water.

Add a drop of vanilla extract.

And a teaspoon of brown sugar.

Bring to the boil.  Reduce to a simmer and cover for 20 – 25 minutes or until it reaches a porridge consistency.

Keep your eye on it though!  I turned my back and mine boiled over EVERYWHERE.  So make sure you keep it on a low heat.

Transfer to a bowl and stir through half a chopped banana or use what ever fruit you like!  Strawberries would be a dream.  You could even add some chopped nuts for crunch.  Drool.

I thoroughly enjoyed my quinoa porridge and will definitely be making it again.

Since my Merry Try-smas post I have also mastered the protein smoothie, have trained every morning down at the beach and have been as gluten-free as possible.  I am absolutely LOVING my Christmas holidays!

Coming soon… 2011 goals.  Have you started thinking about yours?

9 Responses to “Quinoa Porridge with Banana!”

  1. bonne_santé December 31, 2010 at 10:45 am #

    Mmmm breakfast quinoa. Looks delightful!
    And yes, it was a clever title 🙂

    • Amanda January 1, 2011 at 12:07 pm #

      Haha! It was delightful. I wish it didn’t take so long to cook though!

  2. littleaspects January 3, 2011 at 8:38 pm #

    This looks delicious! I love quinoa, but have never tried it with sweet stuff (fruit etc). Might have to give it a go – thanks for the idea!

    • Amanda January 3, 2011 at 10:48 pm #

      I was very much a savory quinoa eater too but you will be pleasantly surprised when you try it sweet. 🙂

  3. Petra January 8, 2011 at 7:38 am #

    Just tried this for breakfast, yum! And don’t worry, I managed to boil mine over too!

    • Amanda January 10, 2011 at 12:37 pm #

      LOL! So annoying! But worth the delicousness. 😉

  4. SkekTek January 8, 2011 at 1:14 pm #

    This looks great! Thanks so much for posting, I love porridge but my body hates oats so I’m definitely going to give this a whirl.

    • Amanda January 10, 2011 at 12:38 pm #

      I hope you like it! 😀

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Quinoa porridge with banana « Adventures of a Sydney coeliac - January 10, 2011

    […] she was visiting, and I decided that it was about time that I used it. I was finally inspired by this post from Amanda (Me vs. the bulge) as even since going gluten free I have missed my […]

Leave a Reply

