And So That Was Christmas…

28 Dec

I had been preparing for Christmas Day and Boxing Day for a few weeks as you may know from recent posts.  I knew that there would be an endless supply of food and grog and I had to formulate a plan so as not to over-indulge.   So how did I go?

The Feast

Considering the amount of food available to me I believe I went really well!  I did not go back for  seconds and I stuck with my rule of tasting only a small amount of everything.  My only downfall was the desserts… I found myself skimping on the main meals so I could have more dessert.  But can you blame me?  Custard, warm Christmas puddings, apple pie and Lamington cake… Drool.  Seriously.  I’m only human.

Meet my nemesis...

I’ve also trained every day except for Christmas Day.  And I’m not talking just a short run or a walk around the block.  I’m talking hardcore circuit training.  The kind of training that leaves you walking like you have a stick permanently shoved up your butt.  I’m not kidding – I have been walking around like I just got off a horse for 2 days now.

My trainer Nat and I have been heading off to the beach bright and early every morning to get in some quality training time.  We’ve been taking it in turns devising the training sessions.  One day we follow her plan and the next day we follow mine and so forth.  It was my session that left us with legs of lead… I think I was trying to teach her a lesson.  That totally backfired.  Well, maybe it worked because she’s sorer than sore but I also got sore in the process!

She’s on holidays right now and in 2 days is going to Tasmania for 2 whole weeks.  I don’t know what I’m going to do without her!  She has left me with a workout plan and I’ve also got a copy of 30 day Shred coming in the post (thanks Fit Girl!) so I think I might JUST cope.  Just.

I’ll do a review of 30 Day Shred once I start it.  Has anyone else given it a go? What did you think?

10 Responses to “And So That Was Christmas…”

  1. Natalie December 28, 2010 at 12:33 pm #

    Yeah I’ve done 30 day shred – well, not the whole 30 days but I did it to mix it up a bit and have a break from my gym training for a little while. It’s hard but over pretty quickly. I also mixed it up with Banish Fat, Boost Metabolism. It’s longer and really is hard, but has some great (read: horrible) ab moves. I also have the No More Trouble Zones one – got almost halfway through it & was literally DYING … I must admit, I gave up.

    I am supposed to be doing these now – I swore I’d re-start them from Boxing Day. hahah Ummm, tomorrow!

    • Amanda December 28, 2010 at 4:43 pm #

      Tomorrow never comes Natters! 😉 Thanks for the feedback!

  2. The Wench December 28, 2010 at 12:59 pm #

    I did the 30 day Shred in January 2009 that started my whole transformation to being fit. It was hard as hell at the time by my Cathe Freidrich STS kicks butt over it now. 🙂

    • Amanda December 28, 2010 at 4:43 pm #

      I wonder if it will be challenging enough for me then?

  3. Stephanie Lee December 28, 2010 at 2:01 pm #

    If you love hardcore workouts like it sounds like you do…you will enjoy the 30 day shred. It’s a great workout. I did a review of it in September..if you wanna pop over to my blog and check it out..go on! http://inquisitivecoach.com/blog/?p=399

    • Amanda December 28, 2010 at 4:46 pm #

      Thanks Stephanie! I did have a read. Great review! I can’t wait to see what level I will be able to do! 😀

  4. Bron December 28, 2010 at 2:56 pm #

    I’ve done the 30day shred and like the first poster, thought it was good, but short. You could probably do two of them in a row. I would also recommend Jillian’s other two dvds which are amazing workouts. Also the PX90 workout is an amazing workout.

    ps – long time lurker, but am loving your blog!

    • Amanda December 28, 2010 at 4:47 pm #

      Hi Bron! Thanks for commenting. 🙂

      Yes, I just read on Stephanie’s review that it is only 20 minutes plus warm up and cool down. Will see how I go!

  5. leashieloo December 30, 2010 at 2:10 pm #

    I’m a fan of 30 Day Shred, it doesn’t take much time and feels really effective!

  6. Tina December 30, 2010 at 9:07 pm #

    Glad the DVD reached you safe and sound! Hope you enjoy it, and enjoy your holiday!

Leave a Reply

