The Dog Days Are Over!

22 Dec

source: weheartit.com

The Fit Girl posted a lovely little “Year In Review” post and I thought, “What a novel idea!  I’m going to casually steal that idea and make it my own!”.

I’m a huge fan of reflection and acknowledgement.  How can you ever truly achieve your goals if you don’t acknowledge what has already been achieved?  It’s the final piece of the puzzle, the icing on the cake, the cherry on top, the bees knees… it’s all about looking back and saying, “You know what?  I did that!  Fuck yeah!  I am AWESOME”.  So here is my year in review.

This Year…

  • I lost over 10kg and a total of 46cm from all over my body
  • I got over my fear of food, stopped dieting and starting eating nutritionally balanced and healthy meals
  • I fell in love with the world’s best trainer and got over my fear of exercise
  • I started this blog which has been fundamental in my weight loss success
  • I cut down on alcohol and limited it to only social gatherings (very hard!)
  • I truly understood what it means to be motivated to achieve something
  • I went off the pill and said goodbye to gross fake hormones and hello to my libido!  (TMI anyone?)
  • I stopped over thinking EVERYTHING and got out of my head and just let my body do what it was meant to do
  • I ran my first 9km fun run and then ran a 10km fun run
  • I discovered that running wasn’t actually that fun…
  • I fell in love with quinoa!
  • I tried hip hop dancing and failed
  • I did a fashion shoot for Cosmopolitan Australia (hitting stands in February!)
  • I tried Zumba and failed
  • I overcame insulin resistance
  • I made a commitment to leading a healthy lifestyle which means even when my weight loss journey is over I will never, ever go back to old habits

I want to thank…

  • First and foremost, my trainer, Nat Carter – you are my inspiration, my support, my cheerleader, my dietician, my motivator, my psychologist, my drill sergeant, my own personal comedian, and most of all, my friend.  I can’t thank you enough for what you have done for me this year – you gave me a new life.*
  • My husband – I don’t even know where to begin.  You’re my number one supporter and you’ve been there for me every step of the way.  Every whinge about muscle aches and pains, you’ve listened to.  Every crazy new health food item I’ve cooked, you’ve eaten (maybe not twice but you at least tried them all once!).  And now you are starting your own fitness journey and I couldn’t be more proud.  We’re going to be so fit and hot I can’t even STAND it!
  • My training buddies – we’ve shared so much sweat over the past year it has been absolutely disgusting!  But it has been awesome to share the pain with you!  Pain shared is pain halved right?  Does it work that way?  Maybe not.
  • My friends – your words of encouragement have spurred me on along the way and I’m so thankful to have such a great group of girls to call friends!
  • My blog readers – I don’t know many of you but I feel as if I do.   I’m still amazed that there are so many people who actually read this dribble and would want to support someone they have never even met but that is the power of the healthy bloggers community!  You guys are all amazing and I wish you all every success in the coming year.

* I may or may not have got a small tear when I wrote that!

I turned my life upside down this year, pulled it apart, put it back together and started afresh.  Everything I thought I knew about weight loss I discarded.  I made way for new knowledge and I devoured it.  I changed myself inside and out for the better and I will never look back.

So here’s to 2011!  May every dream, wish or hope that you have for the year come true – make it happen!

 

 

18 Responses to “The Dog Days Are Over!”

  1. Chanel December 22, 2010 at 3:30 pm #

    Amanda, it is truly incredible what you have accomplished over the past year. I’m so proud to be your friend 😀

    • Amanda December 22, 2010 at 3:40 pm #

      And I’m so lucky to have YOU as a friend! Naw! I feel all warm and mushy right now! 😀

  2. Tina December 22, 2010 at 3:49 pm #

    Beautifully written 🙂 Congratulations on a most amazing year, you deserve to have lost every kilo and every cm you have lost. Looking forward to more blog posts in 2011!!

    • Amanda December 22, 2010 at 3:51 pm #

      Thanks Tina and thank you for all your support this year!

  3. KittyKitty December 22, 2010 at 4:12 pm #

    That was great, so beautifully written. As Tina said, you deserve your successes 1000% (ok I’m paraphrasing here) and I too am looking forward to following your journey into 2011! 🙂

    • Amanda December 22, 2010 at 4:41 pm #

      Thanks Liz! You’ve been such a great support! See you on the otherside!

  4. Nat Carter December 22, 2010 at 4:23 pm #

    YOU, my friend, are truly amazing! Look at how much you have achieved, it’s beyond awesome. Well done and I can’t wait for 2011. Ha! Think of the pain…I mean fun!! xxxx

    • Amanda December 22, 2010 at 4:42 pm #

      Oh I’m already envisioning the pain! But it’s going to be great. 2011 is going to be the best!!

  5. Cooper December 22, 2010 at 10:21 pm #

    brilliant. might have to re-steal this stolen idea and reflect also!
    congrats on a great year …
    p.s one of my favourite songs. especially for running or working out. 🙂

    • Amanda December 22, 2010 at 10:36 pm #

      Steal away! Yes, slightly obsessed with this song right now! X

  6. Inertia (Jes) December 23, 2010 at 6:58 am #

    Your inspiring Hun! I hope to even a portion of your transformation and change in mindset in 2011!
    Stay amazing 🙂

    • Amanda December 23, 2010 at 8:23 am #

      Thanks Jes! You will! I’ll be watching you along the way in the forums. 😀

  7. KristinaLiana December 23, 2010 at 9:33 am #

    As I sit here and write this I am wiping a tear from my eye! What a wonderful year you have had, full of accomplishment and self love! You have taught me to love and respect my body and that goals can be reached with a little hard work, discipline and a whole lot of fun!

    All the best for a wonderful 2011. Can’t wait to hear all about it!

    xx

    • Amanda December 23, 2010 at 9:56 am #

      Thank you Kristina! Very sweet of you. 🙂 x

  8. bonne_santé December 23, 2010 at 11:43 am #

    Brilliant (second-hand) idea Amanda! 😀 Loved reading this post and realising how much can change in a year. Such a short time really, think of what lies ahead for you! Congrats, you set the healthy-living bar HIGH!

    • Amanda December 23, 2010 at 12:20 pm #

      Thanks Katey! Looking forward to what your blog has in store next year! X

  9. V December 29, 2010 at 1:08 pm #

    Congratulations! Long time reader, first time commenter 🙂

    • Amanda December 29, 2010 at 1:56 pm #

      Hey there long time reader first time commenter! Thanks for the comment! Don’t be shy! 😀

Leave a Reply

