Diary of a Week in Christmas Party Hell…

20 Dec

Dear Diary,

Last week was intense.  I am extremely pleased it’s over and would now like to crawl in a hole and not see anyone until Christmas day.  Do you think this is possible?  Sigh.  Probably not!  But one can only dream.

Last Monday my touch team received a mighty flogging.  I think the score was 12 nil.  These guys we played against were super quick and our defense was terrible.  It was the last game of the season so we totally went out with a bang fizzle.

Tuesday called for group training and then beers and cricket with colleagues.  I had 2 beers.  They weren’t even light beers!  Guilty is my name.  But I had lunch beforehand (a lovely quinoa and lamb stirfry) which meant I didn’t have any of the BBQ chicken, creamy salads and white rolls on offer but I did have some BBQ Shapes. We played cricket FOREVER though so I didn’t feel TOO bad about my BBQ Shapes indiscretion.  Mind you, I suck at cricket.  Like, I only hit the ball once.  Yeah – I’m THAT bad.

Wednesday I had personal training and then a work Christmas Party at night.  I made a conscious decision to have a few drinks to celebrate with my colleagues.  By conscious decision I mean that I didn’t enter into the night and start mindlessly drinking – it means I put a limit on how much I would drink (6 drinks max), spaced it out over the night, drank slowly and didn’t feel guilty about my decision.  This also meant that I didn’t get too drunk but it somehow meant that I did have a whopping headache the next day.  All day.   I had a great time though and the catering was excellent – lots of grilled garlic prawns and seafood.  Delicious!

One of my very gorgeous training partners & me

On Thursday I had one of the most painful experiences of my life.  I had a jaw massage.  It was seriously fucked up.  That’s the nicest way I can put it.  My masseuse put on a rubber glove and totally violated the inside of my jaw.  There were tears, there was screaming, there was hand crushing (his).  But afterward I felt such sweet relief.  I’m a serial jaw clencher so it needed to be done but I am not looking forward to having it done again!

 

Then guess what I did at night?  I went to ANOTHER Christmas party!  We went to a lovely sushi restaurant prior to the party and I had a beautiful udon soup and some sushi so therefore didn’t eat any of the food on offer at the party but I did have 2 light beers.  Why?  I’m really not sure.  I could have gone without them but I think sometimes I get so caught up in the party atmosphere that it’s hard to say no.  See, I’m not perfect either!  I do have my moments of weakness just like anyone else!   But excuse me, can we talk about how I look like a body builder in this photo?!

 

Hi, my name is Miss Olympia! I will CRUSH you!

Holy moly!

Friday finally came.  I was absolutely exhausted.  I had a group PT session in the morning and then we had a farewell lunch for my Manager. And… I drank a few glasses of wine.  Again, why?  Clearly I had issues last week with self-control!

I did stick to most of my survival tips though – I didn’t drink to excess, I exercised portion control, I stuck with my scheduled work outs… And I think I would have been happy with my decisions if I drank only on one of those days but unfortunately I chose to do it on all four.   Ah well, all the parties are over now and I did what I did.  Time to accept, move on and get back to being awesome!

I finished off the week with training on Saturday morning and visiting my mum and brother who live 3 hours away on Sunday.

And EXCITEMENT – I only have 2 more days of work and then I can focus on my holiday goals!  My trainer just sent me through my holiday fitness programs too.  Do you think she is hinting at something?  😉

Do you have issues saying no to festive drinks?  Do you try to exercise control and put boundaries in place or do you just enter the party season without a care in the world?

23 Responses to “Diary of a Week in Christmas Party Hell…”

  1. Cooper December 20, 2010 at 11:30 am #

    Jealous! I have not got the self control that you do..
    Luckily I haven’t got any work xmas party this year, and I won’t be having a big xmas otherwise with that lack of control I’d be 5 kilos past my current weight by 1st Jan.
    🙂

    • Amanda December 20, 2010 at 1:01 pm #

      That’s me every other year but I am so determined to not let it happen this year!!

  2. Laura (starloz) December 20, 2010 at 11:37 am #

    pretty sure i’ll be putting a few healthy habits aside

    • Amanda December 20, 2010 at 1:02 pm #

      Haha! It will be hard not to.

  3. Gillian December 20, 2010 at 11:44 am #

    Holy moly, a jaw massage?! I’ve never heard of such a thing, but I have noticed I am starting to clench my jaw subconsciously, not good at all!

    Sounds like a very busy week, and with all the temptation to indulge I think you did quite well.

    I try exercise control unless my absolute favorites are rolled out on Christmas day, in which case all control goes out the window as I know it is a rare food opportunity haha.

    • Amanda December 20, 2010 at 1:03 pm #

      Yes! Jaw massage! So intense… But very relieving. Haha! And I totally understand the rare food opportunity saga and I think it’s okay to indulge but it’s not okay to OVER indulge. 🙂

  4. Megz December 20, 2010 at 12:01 pm #

    you look gorgeous in that pinky dress xoxo

    • Amanda December 20, 2010 at 1:03 pm #

      Thank you very much! 🙂

  5. Shellet December 20, 2010 at 1:28 pm #

    Holy crap, a jaw massage is something I never, ever want to endure!

    I only had two drinks at my work Christmas party, I call that a win! In fact, I’ve gone off alcohol almost completely in the last year, and I can’t say that I really miss it 🙂

    • Amanda December 20, 2010 at 3:00 pm #

      I haven’t drank even HALF as much this year as I would have previous years! I used to drink every weekend without fail – especially Friday nights when work was finished for the week.

      But now I only drink when the occasion calls for it – weddings, birthdays, parties. But now that I don’t drink so often I find that it affects me so very differently! I try to stick to low alcohol drinks. When I do that I don’t seem to have too much of an issue.

  6. Chanel December 20, 2010 at 2:07 pm #

    I think you did incredibly well with all those parties!

    I am entering the festive season without a care in the world 😉 (well, almost, kinda)

    • Amanda December 20, 2010 at 2:12 pm #

      Ha! Of course you are! 😉

  7. bonne_santé December 20, 2010 at 2:50 pm #

    Amanda! Please don’t be so hard on yourself!

    I totally know the feeling of the shameful blow-out though… With my b’day last week & the lead-in to xmas I lost all semblance of self-control and went CAH-RAZY! 7 days later and I’ve practically forgotten all about it. It doesn’t take long to bounce back.

    I think once we get more into health, and continually raise the bar, the ‘indiscretions’ that we now perform are SO far below that which we used to do…without even giving it a thought!

    You are obviously so mindful of what you’re putting in your body, and a few little slips here and there will not throw you off course. Remember, you’re a pro bodybuilder now right?! All that lean muscle is gonna eat those calories for breakfast!

    • Amanda December 20, 2010 at 2:56 pm #

      Hahahaha awww Katey! You say the darndest things! 😉

      Yes this is true – last year I wouldn’t even bat my eyelids at a debaucherous weekend filled with booze and junk food… the more you change your life for the healthier the more you feel those indiscretions!

      I guess I’m just trying so hard to be a good role model that I forget that even I’m not perfect and WILL have slip ups from time to time!

  8. Amy @Soyamilknosugar December 20, 2010 at 8:27 pm #

    Oh my, I couldn’t concentrate of the rest of your post – a jaw massage?! I didn’t even know such things exist. Please tell more!! x

    • Amanda December 20, 2010 at 8:38 pm #

      It’s quite insane. He pushed on trigger points inside my mouth around my jaw until they released. Nothing I have ever done has been quite as painful!!

  9. Petra December 21, 2010 at 2:30 pm #

    I have no self control – enter the party season with no care – come out feeling horrible!

    • Amanda December 21, 2010 at 2:44 pm #

      What are you going to do this year to prevent feeling horrible??

  10. Tina December 22, 2010 at 8:54 am #

    ahh you’re so good! I can’t promise I will have as much self control at my Christmas party (which is tomorrow, can’t wait!) but I will definitely try as I have things to do on Friday and Hungover Tina will just not work.

    Loving the new blog look! I’m going to be workign on mine over the hols.

    xx

    • Amanda December 22, 2010 at 10:30 am #

      LOL it’s funny because people are saying things like “You’re so good” and envying my self control when I think I did poorly! 😉

      Thanks! I need to do some more work to it but I am much happier with this theme.

  11. Danielle January 3, 2011 at 3:10 pm #

    You look AMAZING!!!
    Merry (belated) Christmas and New Year. Hope 2011 is even more wonderful than 2010 was. 🙂

    • Amanda January 3, 2011 at 7:59 pm #

      Thanks Danielle! Same to you! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pill Popping & The Worlds Best Hangover Cure « runthreeseven - December 20, 2010

    […] told I completely forgot about my desire to share this until this morning when I was reading about Amanda’s Week of Christmas Parties and was reminded just how awful it feels to wake up with a hangover after only a few glasses of […]

Leave a Reply

