Merry Try-smas!

15 Dec

I’m starting to get abnormally excited for my Christmas break.   No, it’s not because of the delicious food.  No, it’s not because I don’t have to go to work.  No, it’s not because of all the boozy parties.  No, it’s not because of presents (okay, maybe a little bit).

It’s because I am going to have 2 and a half weeks to totally focus on health and fitness!  What a freak!  But my, oh my, I am so excited about all the things I am going to try!

I am going to try quinoa for breakfast:

Source: theceliacmaniac.com

I’m going to try almond milk:

Source: nandyala.org

And, oh my god, maybe I’ll even cook the quinoa in the almond milk and add bananas?  I don’t know!  I’m feeling that crazy!

I’m going to make protein powder smoothies:

Source: womensabworkout.com

Mmm blended berries, yoghurt, ice and protein powder!  Hello!

I’m going to try and be as gluten-free as possible (tummy issues – I’m looking glaring at you):

Source: sensitivediner.com

AND I’m going to train at the beach every morning:

Source: blogs.people.co.uk

Weee look at me go!

Although some people might not agree, being on holidays is a great time to focus on your health and fitness goals.  You’ve got no excuses!  Time – you have plenty of it!  Work – sayonara!  Bored – time to try new things!

What new things are YOU going to try this Christmas holidays?

17 Responses to “Merry Try-smas!”

  1. The Wench December 15, 2010 at 3:25 pm #

    I agree too! I am looking forward to my 2 hours of exercise every day again for the ten days i have off. 🙂 I want to work on my diet and get healthier too. I may just try all the things you mentioned.

    • Amanda December 15, 2010 at 3:27 pm #

      Awesome! Please do! Haha

  2. myherohegel December 15, 2010 at 3:29 pm #

    I love it!! Woo go girlfriend!
    I’m excited about the same things, but things I don’t usually have time for – lots of laps in the ocean pool, taking my dogs on nice long runs at the beach, mango smoothies…drool!
    I haven’t been able to exercise at all since my operation, and have about a week and a half before I can start exercising again. I thought it was going to be an awesome break but it’s driving me nuts!! By the time holidays roll around, it’s sooo going to be time to get back into it!

    P.s. I was checking out Andrew Follan’s photo blog for my wedding next year, and saw some photos of you??! Such a small world!

    P.p.s. good on you for posting those pics- you are looking AMAZING! And you have beautiful skin!

    • Amanda December 15, 2010 at 3:36 pm #

      Mmm mangoes! Loveeee!

      You must be biting at the bit! 😀

      Haha that is soooo weird! It was my best friends wedding: http://vineyardsveilsvows.wordpress.com/ He is such a great photographer and a lovely guy!

      Naw, thank you! My skin is not happy at current though. Just changed cleanser and it’s not working out! I might send it a break up text…

  3. Tina December 15, 2010 at 3:49 pm #

    wow! I found myself nodding along to this blog post – I’m also excited for my xmas hols for that exact reason – to focus on my health and fitness. I’m going to be so excited to go the gym ANYTIME of the day. And, gasp, I can stay longer than an hour if I so wish.

    Very interested to see how you go with the almond milk.

    • Amanda December 15, 2010 at 4:31 pm #

      LOL! Gasp indeed! 😀 Yes – I will probably do a post on it no doubt. 😉

  4. Tina December 15, 2010 at 3:50 pm #

    p.s. sorry I keep having to get moderated! I’ve had to change my email around a couple of times, long story!

  5. PoP December 15, 2010 at 7:19 pm #

    The Wench and I are both starting Turbo Fire and we are going basically kick are own arses 😉

    • Amanda December 16, 2010 at 1:58 pm #

      Oooh awesomeness. Everyone needs a little ass kicking every now and then!!

  6. Coops December 16, 2010 at 3:04 pm #

    HA!!! Almond milk is on my list. As in quinoa for all sorts of dishes… Get out of my head. Haha. xo

  7. Simply Life December 19, 2010 at 8:09 am #

    I’ve thought about having quinoa for breakfast but I dont’ know what to put with it to make it feel like breakfast!

    • Amanda December 20, 2010 at 8:10 am #

      Fruit, yoghurt, milk… Think of it like porridge or muesli! 🙂

  8. bonne_santé December 19, 2010 at 1:38 pm #

    Haha you sound like me!
    Instead of planning endless days of relaxation and lounging, I love to use the holidays to get cracking on things I wouldn’t normally have time to achieve.
    I just got a new camera, so i’m going to try to learn the ways of the DSLR…eeep! I also want to attempt morning yoga, change up my diet, and make healthy recipes to TRY to convince the fam that eating for health and eating for enjoyment do not have to be mutually exclusive!
    p.s I think you’ll find the zero-tolerance to gluten approach really beneficial! Can’t wait to hear about it 🙂

    • Amanda December 20, 2010 at 8:11 am #

      Oooh all sounds very exciting! Looking forward to seeing new pics! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Diary of a Week in Christmas Party Hell… « Me vs. The Bulge - December 20, 2010

    […] EXCITEMENT – I only have 2 more days of work and then I can focus on my holiday goals!  My trainer just sent me through my holiday fitness programs too.  Do you think she is hinting […]

  2. Quinoa Porridge with Banana! « Me vs. The Bulge - December 29, 2010

    […] Dec Remember my Merry Try-smas post?  What a clever little name for a post.  By George, it’s genius!  Anyhoo, enough […]

Leave a Reply

