Cheering for Sour Cherry Juice!

9 Dec

About a week ago I posted the following on my Facebook page (you should totally press ‘like’!  You won’t regret it, I swear!)

A recent study found that insomniacs who drank two 235ml glasses of sour cherry juice a day for 2 weeks fell asleep 20 minutes faster and slept more soundly through the night.

Of course, being the health nut that I am, I have been on the lookout for sour cherry juice ever since.  I was lurking around in my local fruit and vegetable shop yesterday (you know, admiring the lettuce, smelling the coriander, as you do) and I noticed they had it for $1.99 for a liter. I wasn’t sure if that was a reasonable price or not but all I knew was that I was going to buy that juice and by god I was going to blog about it.

First comes the research.  I did a little Google on the interwebs thingy and it told me many interesting things about sour cherry juice besides the fact that it is good for insomniacs!  I shall present a few of them to you in bullet point for your reading pleasure and ease:

  • Drinking a glass of cherry juice a day offers the same health benefits as eating 23 portions of fruit and vegetables!
  • 250ml of the juice contained more antioxidants than five portions of peas, tomatoes, water melon, carrots and banana!
  • Sour cherry juice may offer relief to people suffering from arthritis or gout!
  • Drinking sour cherry juice immediately before and after exercise can alleviate muscle pain!

(Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/health/article-1062831/Cherry-juice-hailed-superfood-equivalent-23-portions-fruit-single-glass.html#ixzz17brFme99)

So after reading all the fantastic benefits it was time to pour myself a glass:

Firstly, I love the gorgeous deep read colour.  Made me think I was drinking a glass of True Blood.  I felt incredibly vampire-ish for a good moment there.

Taking the first sip I noted the tartness.  Not quite as tart as cranberry juice but still a lovely sour taste.  Sour yet sweet.  A nice balance of flavour.  This is beginning to sound like a wine tasting!  “Mmm yes yes, full bodied yet not too heavy on the nose.  Lingers on the plate.  A sensory delight!”.

What I’m trying to get across here is that I love the taste.  Kind of like a cross between apple juice and cranberry juice.  Delicious.  Could even make a great accompaniment to vodka!  Not that I encourage or endorse drinking but I don’t mind the old celebratory tipple! Moderation is key!

I’m not sure if I am feeling any benefits yet, this is only the second day I have been drinking it, but I will try drinking it before and after my training session in the morning and will advise you all if I see any difference.  Even if I don’t notice any benefits I will still continue drinking it!

Have you tried sour cherry juice?   Noticed any benefits?

15 Responses to “Cheering for Sour Cherry Juice!”

  1. The Wench December 9, 2010 at 10:20 pm #

    @michaelsally recommended I drink that a couple months ago. I thought that was a weird suggestion. Now, I think I’ll have try it.

    • Amanda December 9, 2010 at 10:24 pm #

      Yes definitely give it a go! 😀

  2. Olivia Tague December 9, 2010 at 10:44 pm #

    Will give it a go thanks Amanda… If you get a chance I would love to hear a review by you on Chia seeds and their benefits. Thanks! x

    • Amanda December 10, 2010 at 12:11 am #

      Sure thing Livvy! Will add it to my list! X

  3. Shellet December 10, 2010 at 1:03 am #

    Well I need to get me some cherry juice! Although the sour part puts me off, I’m not a big fan of sour.

    Is the sourness really noticable, or not too bad?

    • Amanda December 11, 2010 at 8:09 pm #

      I don’t think it’s TOO sour but I can’t be sure… I love sour though! It’s not as tart as cranberry though.

  4. leashieloo December 11, 2010 at 4:10 am #

    I didn’t even know it existed! I hope they have some stateside, I have A LOT Of trouble sleeping.

    • Amanda December 11, 2010 at 8:10 pm #

      Keep an eye out at health food and international food stores! Maybe see if you can order online too?

  5. Yasmin December 11, 2010 at 1:21 pm #

    I saw an article in the latest In Style mag about sour cherry juice & it’s benefits but the juice they were spruiking was $15 for 1Lt. I wanted to try it but not at that price! I will keep a look out for the brand you tried instead.

    • Amanda December 11, 2010 at 8:11 pm #

      Interesting! That’s incredible! What a rort. You can purchase it online too – just google it. 🙂

  6. Pamela December 13, 2010 at 8:59 am #

    Cool!! Thanks for the tip, that juice looks sooo yummy!!

  7. finefeather December 13, 2010 at 12:59 pm #

    okay i need this immediately. i have the worst insomnia ever!

    i also like the idea of drinking vampire blood before i go to sleep.

    • Amanda December 13, 2010 at 1:51 pm #

      Totally! Give it a go! 😀

  8. Nikki January 3, 2011 at 6:58 pm #

    Just picked up a bottle of the juice from Harris Farm markets, and drinking it as we speak 🙂

    • Amanda January 3, 2011 at 8:00 pm #

      Oooh so what do you think??

Leave a Reply

