Fitness Tests, Red Dresses and Reflections

7 Dec

I have been a bad blogger.  A very very bad blogger.  Feel free to give me a good spanking – clothing optional!  Did I just say that?! Oh no I didn’t!  Oh yes I did!  Grrrraaoowww!

You see, I forgot to update you all on what my results were for the second part of the fitness test I undertook in September!  And I don’t remember what the results were either… I did have an email saved at one point but it’s gone to email heaven.  That shit happens sometimes, even to highly efficient people like yours truly.

But never fear dear bulge battlers!  I did ANOTHER fitness test 12 weeks ago and completed the follow up test on the weekend and I have the results in my hot little hand or rather at my hot little fingertips!

25/09/2010 5/12/2010
Squats 54 60
Pushups (on the knees) 47 55
Plank 1:40 mins 2:19 mins
Run (approx 1.5km) 13:15 mins 11:58 mins
Burpees 24 28
Lunges 46 62
Tricep Dips 80 98

 

I improved in all areas of the fitness test!  I am incredibly stoked with myself.  Plus, over that 12 week period I lost a total of 7cm from my navel!  I’m excited now (but still nervous) to see the rest of my measurements on Friday.

Another extremely satisfying thing that I wanted to share was that I have borrowed a friends dress to wear to a wedding on Friday.  That might not sound exciting to some but for me it’s a huge deal.  I haven’t been able to just ‘borrow’ an item of clothing from a friend in a good ten years.  Nothing ever would have fit me!  But I am borrowing my best friend Chanel’s gorgeous red size 12 dress and it fits me well!  Maybe even a little roomy!  Mind you I should add that it’s now miles too big for the svelt Miss C!  Here’s a sneak peak:

Strike a pose! Don't mind the messy bedroom!

I’m feeling so happy and confident at the moment but I still have a lot of work to do!  The year is winding up and I’m starting to feel the strain.  I’m exhausted both in body and mind.

This year has been HUGE for me.  The biggest year of my life.  I’ve changed so much – physically, mentally and emotionally.  But all the pain, sweat, tears and tiredness has been worth it.  Not just for aesthetic reasons but for also for my health.  It’s been almost 2 years since I was diagnosed with mild insulin resistance and PCOS and I’m happy to report that I conquered insulin resistance earlier this year and my PCOS is now under control.  That was my main goal this year and I achieved it.  Now to get to 68kg!

If you had to reflect on your health and fitness regime over the last year would you say that you have achieved your goals?  If not, what do you need to do to put your health first and how will you do it?

P.S. Have you become a fan of my Facebook page yet?  See right and click away!

10 Responses to “Fitness Tests, Red Dresses and Reflections”

  1. Shellet December 7, 2010 at 10:08 pm #

    Awesome!! Congratulations you must be stoked, they are great improvements!

    And ra rawwwrrrr that dress looks good on you 🙂

    Fitness wise I’ve succeeded and I’ve failed, in that I got up to running 5k, but let all that fitness slide. I am however working up to it again and should be running 5k by the end of the year 🙂

    Health wise I’m still struggling with over eating. However I have got other things checked out and I’m relatively healthy except for the weight, and working on the other things I need to work on so that should all equal one more in control me :0)

    • Amanda December 8, 2010 at 7:42 pm #

      Thanks Shellet! 😀

      It sounds to me like you nearly have things under control! Keep up the good work!

  2. Tina December 8, 2010 at 9:44 am #

    That dress looks perfect on you! and 7cm!! you crazy fitness machine! Biggest congrats on getting the PCOS and insulin under control!

    I would say that I have acheived most of my goals. I didn’t lose as much weight as I’d liked, but that’s trumped by the fact my fitness has increased (tick #1) and I’m eating and feeling healthier (tick #2).

    • Amanda December 8, 2010 at 7:44 pm #

      Hey Tina! Thanks! You know what, you’ve addressed your diet and fitness, weight loss should logically follow. You’ll get there! 😀

  3. Allie @ Healthy Balance, Healthy Life December 8, 2010 at 11:20 am #

    You look gorgeous in that dress.

    And I love breaking records! I recently broke my fastest mile time (don’t know what that is in kilometers) It’s fun and motivating and good for the bodayy 🙂

    • Amanda December 8, 2010 at 7:45 pm #

      Thanks Allie! And woohoo, go you! I am a sucker for breaking records! I’m very competitive even if I’m just competing against myself! 😀

  4. Chanel December 8, 2010 at 3:22 pm #

    You look hot in that dress! And well done for smashing the fitness test 😀

    • Amanda December 8, 2010 at 7:46 pm #

      Thanks Champie! And thanks for lending it to me! 😉

  5. Jade December 11, 2010 at 11:27 am #

    Wow so fit and you look damn hot!!! No wonder clothing is optional, you go girl! 😀

    • Amanda December 11, 2010 at 8:10 pm #

      Hehehe thank you my dear!

Leave a Reply

