These Are a Few of My Favourite Teas!

1 Dec

“When hunger strikes, when workouts sting, when I’m feeling saaaaad, I simply drink one of my favourite teas and then I don’t feeeeel sooooo baaaaaad!” (yes, I made that up.  Catchy, yes?  You love it!)

I love tea!  I love drinking it, brewing it and smelling it.  ‘Green Tea’ by Elizabeth Arden is one of my favourite scents!  I like to browse tea sites and fantasise about teas I might like to try.  Yes, I’m that into tea.

Let’s start with my FAVOURITE tea right now.

Chai Latte

Chai is a traditional Indian tea (‘chai’ means ‘tea’ in Indian) and has many health benefits. The usual base for chai is black tea to which spices are added (ginger, cinnamon, cloves, pepper, cardamom and nutmeg).  The tea is then blended with milk and honey or sugar to make a sweet, creamy drink.  You can also buy the chai spice blend and have it without black tea for a non-caffeinated version.

The spices in chai have been used in Eastern medicine for centuries :

  • Ginger is excellent for a variety of ailments including sore throats, cold and flu symptoms, upset stomach, nausea and aches and pains
  • Cloves are good for promoting proper circulation
  • Cinnamon helps regulate blood sugar levels and is also known as a stimulant
  • Cardamon is used for easing indigestion and has calming properties
  • Pepper aids digestion
  • Nutmeg helps lower blood pressure and sooth a stomach ache as well as stop diarrhea and (in low doses) helps detoxify the body

Chai is definitely better for you if you blend it yourself rather than buy from your local Coffee Shop so you can control the sweetness.  Look for the chai spice blend in health food stores and have it with skim milk to save calories.

Green Tea

Read this.  Nuff said.

 

Chrysanthemum Tea

My friend Nat and I tried this at work the other day.  One of our Asian colleagues swears by it and made a big pot for Nat to try so she poured a cup for me.  It’s naturally quite sweet and very herbal tasting.  It’s really refreshing and has a truckload of health benefits!  I’ll definitely be adding it to my tea rotation!

The following are the health benefits attributed to chrysanthemum tea:

  • May help lower blood pressure and consequently also help in the treatment of other related ailments, i.e. angina and other heart problems
  • May help relieve headaches
  • May help in the treatment of colds, fever and the flu
  • May help in the treatment of tinnitus
  • May help in the treatment of such skin problems as acne, boils and sores
  • Is believed to contribute to clear vision
  • May help in the alleviation of dizziness
  • Is believed to contribute to alertness

(source)

Ginger Tea

 

Source: tankitchen-dessert.blogspot.com

I touched on the benefits of ginger in one of my earlier posts however to recap:

Ginger is good for:

  • Upset stomach
  • Cleansing the colon
  • Keeping menstrual cramps under control
  • Improving circulation
  • Regulating the metabolism
  • Regulating blood sugar levels
  • Improving mental alertness

You can buy ginger tea in tea bags from your local supermarket however it’s so much nicer when you make it yourself!  Want to know how?  Read this.

Peppermint Tea

Source: buzzle.com

Peppermint tea is so delicious.  I love how it’s an instant mouth freshener too (especially good after meals containing onion!).  It instantly perks me up and livens my senses.  Just inhaling that zingy scent gets me all revved up! Woo hoo!  (Too much?  Sorry.)

Peppermint tea is great for digestion issues and soothes a bloated belly.  It’s also known to be an appetite suppressant so it could even aid in weight loss.

It has a wide variety of uses which includes anything from stress relief to boosting immunity.  You can read more about the wonderful benefits of peppermint tea and how to make your own by clicking on the image above.

 

I also love black tea which is choc-full of antioxidants (as are most teas).   Most teas are generally good for you and I find they are a great hunger distraction.  Whenever I feel the usual afternoon peckishness come on I reach for one of my many packets of tea and I forget that I was hungry in the first place!

Are you crazy for tea too?  What’s your favourite tea?

 

 

 

14 Responses to “These Are a Few of My Favourite Teas!”

  1. Shellet December 1, 2010 at 2:16 pm #

    I now have lots more teas I must try, thanks for the post, I always wondered what each tea did but I only got as far as finding out about Green tea and White tea before I got distracted 😉

    I am definitely going to try the Chrysanthemum tea and Ginger.

    • Amanda December 1, 2010 at 2:53 pm #

      Let me know how you like them Shellet! 🙂

  2. Chanel December 1, 2010 at 2:34 pm #

    I love tea so much. I love black tea with milk & 2; lemon & honey; chai; ginger… Just not green or mint!

    I’m very interested in trying chrysanthemum tea – sounds lovely.

    • Amanda December 1, 2010 at 2:54 pm #

      You should learn to love them!

  3. The Wench December 1, 2010 at 3:13 pm #

    You really DO like tea, don’t you? Me too. I’ll have to try out some of your suggestions.

    • Amanda December 1, 2010 at 3:14 pm #

      A little… 😉

  4. bonne_santé December 1, 2010 at 3:46 pm #

    Ah, tea. Beverage of CHAMPIONS! Glad someone else shares my crazy fetish – the more kooky the blend, the better! You caught my eye with crysanthemum tea. Must try!
    I have homemade ginger tea every morning with breakfast (a knob of ginger smashed up and steeped in hot water) and I can never say no to a roobios.

    • Amanda December 1, 2010 at 4:00 pm #

      Mmm knob of ginger. I used to HATE ginger but I really enjoy it now!

      Rooibos! I must try that again. Haven’t had it in years and don’t remember what it tastes like!

      I’m going to browse the T2 site… again. Haha

  5. Jessica December 1, 2010 at 8:27 pm #

    I’m a daily green tea drinker; usually three or more cups when I have it in stock! 🙂

    I also love steeping chrysanthemum in a teapot with some pu-eh tea… such a delicious, fragrant mix, that steels just lovely. It supposedly warms the body plus aids with fat breakdown… (I buy both of these loose leaf in a Chinese supermarket).

    I’m also partial to the odd rosehip tea (with lemongrass and ginger). Have had a packet of Nerada stashed for ages! 🙂

    • Amanda December 2, 2010 at 10:08 am #

      Oh I couldn’t do that much green tea! I’m quite sensitive to caffeine actually! Haha

      All of those sound delicious and intriguing!!!

  6. pursuitoflagom December 1, 2010 at 9:06 pm #

    Chinese, jasmine, fruit, all of your above, this cool Chinese tea called Oblong or something that I bought while I was over there, and a home made brew of lemon, cinnamon sticks and ginger…its amazing and tastes like xmas.

    I am brewing a cup of green tea now just for u 😉
    xxx

    • Amanda December 2, 2010 at 10:09 am #

      I love Oolong! And your homebrew sounds yummy!

      Haha! Nice work! 😀

  7. Allie @ Healthy Balance, Healthy Life December 3, 2010 at 12:23 pm #

    I LOVE tea! It even was given a spot in my post on “5 Tips for a Healthy Lifestyle” 🙂 When I did South Beach to kind of “reset” my body, I couldn’t have sugar (not even fruit) for the first two weeks and fruit teas were my way of feeling like I was cheating with out actually messing up my blood sugar etc.

    With that said, I love love love black teas with vanilla or caramel flavorings (chai is so yummy) and ginger tea helps me so much when I’m nauseous.

    Thanks for the post! Now you have “Sound of Music” music in my head though 😉

    • Amanda December 3, 2010 at 12:33 pm #

      Ewww South Beach! 😉

      Haha that was TOTALLY my intention! 😀

Leave a Reply

