I’ve Got a Confession to Make…

11 Nov

Remember very early on in my blog when I asked my hubby to hide my scales?  Well, I uh, umm, oh this is so hard and embarrassing to admit… Okay I’ll just spit it out.  I’ve been weighing myself daily again.  DAILY!  How ridiculous!  This goes against EVERYTHING I stand for but I am so obsessed with my end goal (which is SO close) that I can’t seem to think rationally.  I’ve become a monster!  Don’t look at me!  Don’t look at meeeee!

Every morning before I get in the shower I weigh myself, then I look at the number and if it is any bigger I fret.  If it has gotten smaller I rejoice.  But it’s just so ridiculous because I KNOW that day to day how much your weight can fluctuate, I KNOW that muscle takes up less room than fat meaning I can actually be physically smaller and still weigh the same, I KNOW the detrimental mental effects that weighing yourself everyday can cause, I KNOW I am not a number but I just.  Can’t.  Seem.  To.  Stop.

Enough is enough I say!  I will no longer fall victim to a machine!  I’m hiding the scales again and am committing to weekly weigh ins.  I am focusing on reducing in SIZE not in WEIGHT. That is the key! (I’m feeling quite smug with that little phrase!).

Speaking of reducing in size, tomorrow I will have my monthly measurements taken.  I’m worried that my week off from exercise will have a negative effect but I’m not going to focus on that.  I just need to focus on moving forward.  So I will post the results of that plus I will fill you all in on how my protein trial is going!

Are you a scale-a-holic?  Do you focus on your weight more than your size?

Source: weheartit.com

18 Responses to “I’ve Got a Confession to Make…”

  1. Polly6034 November 11, 2010 at 1:47 pm #

    Good on you for confessing, and moving on. I love your new mantra, and it is so so true. I’ve been weighing myself a little lately – which is not like me at all. I look and feel the best I have in years, and I think I’m turning to the scales, hoping they’ll agree with me – but they don’t! I’m the same weight as I was 2 years ago before I started exercising. Yet, I’m wearing shorts today, and my legs and tum look mighty fine in them. The scales don’t tell me that I look good, I do! 😛

    • Amanda November 11, 2010 at 2:13 pm #

      Exactly – it’s all about how you feel, not being dictated by what a number says!

  2. Jade November 11, 2010 at 1:52 pm #

    I’m embarrassed to admit I’m a habitual weigher, I know it’s bad, I need to see a shrink – I seem to b saying that a lot lately I should just do it lol. Stop weighing yourself and yes I’m still curious about the protein!

    • Amanda November 11, 2010 at 2:14 pm #

      Haha! All will be revealed about the protein in the next few days! 😀

  3. Liz N November 11, 2010 at 2:12 pm #

    Seriously, why is using a scale bad – it’s just feedback.
    A scale is just a piece of metal that couldn’t care less what emotion you attach to it. Thank it for the data, hop off it and get on with your life.

    • Amanda November 11, 2010 at 2:15 pm #

      I don’t see it as necessarily “bad” to weigh yourself but in my opinion I see my obsessive need to see what “number” I am every morning a very negative activity.

  4. Boreomd Abounds November 11, 2010 at 2:13 pm #

    The more I weigh myself, the less weight I lose. It’s such a catch-22! I notice that if I focus on eating health and exercising regularly and only weigh myself once a month or so I’m a lot more successful at losing weight.

    • Amanda November 11, 2010 at 2:16 pm #

      I would have to agree with you there because you are taking all the mental anguish out of obsessing over what “number” you are out of the equation and allowing your body to do what comes naturally. 🙂

  5. Shellet November 11, 2010 at 3:14 pm #

    I hate weight! Purely because of the focus on a number we “think” we should be at when it’s the size of our bodies that actually matters.

    I am guilty of being obsessed with the scales at times too though!

  6. Ashley @ Nourishing the Soul November 11, 2010 at 4:06 pm #

    It’s definitely hard to break out of the cycle of weighing ourselves when we’re constantly bombarded with messages about the importance of the number. But the act of putting ourselves through that kind of scrutiny each day is almost abusive, at least for me. A friend of mine told me recently he has an idea for a scale that reads (instead of your weight), “You deserve so much better than this.”

    • Amanda November 11, 2010 at 4:35 pm #

      You’re so right Ashley. I was reading about a scale the other day that actually doesn’t record your weight but instead shows you what you have lost! So you never actually see the number but you can track your progress all the same. I thought that was a genius idea!

  7. Kathy Roser November 12, 2010 at 11:16 am #

    I enjoy weighing myself every morning and do not find it detrimental if the numbers have gone up, I use that to keep me focused. I use it a tool to see how much my body can flucuate from day to day and what works and what doesnt in my exercise and food intake. Weighing weekly for me would not take into account how my body cycles eg: whether it be the lead up to your period etc.

  8. The Wench November 15, 2010 at 11:50 am #

    I need my scale… gotta have my scale!!!! it keeps me honest.

  9. Amy November 15, 2010 at 1:26 pm #

    Weighing yourself on a daily basis is probably the worst thing you could do if you are training or trying to reach a fitness goal. Like you mentioned muscle mass and fat are of totally different levels. I’m the smallest I’ve been ever as far as measurements go and I’m up 6.5kgs from my lowest weight, so that just goes to show – measurements are everything.

    🙂

  10. Amy November 15, 2010 at 1:27 pm #

    Also – This blog update reminded me alot of this entry: http://haveyourcakeandeatitdiet.com/the-anti-scales-campaign-starts-here

    If you hadn’t read it yet I thought you might find it very interesting as it supports everything you are saying. Now, just stay off the scales 🙂

    • Amanda November 15, 2010 at 1:57 pm #

      Oooh thanks for sharing Amy! And thanks for your support! 😀

  11. natonika November 19, 2010 at 11:01 am #

    i weigh myself twice a day, when i get up and when i go to bed. i know its not healthy but its what i need to keep focussed. not that i’m doing well anyway, chowing down diet pills and BP daily and still a pig. uhhh. your blog is inspiring. hopefully one day i can do it rihgt.
    x

    • Amanda November 19, 2010 at 11:08 am #

      Oh Nat! 😦 This comment just made me sad. I was too in the place you are at and it’s not good so I know how you feel! I hope you change your views soon! You can do it the healthy and right way! x

Leave a Reply

