Weddings Make Me Silly!

4 Nov

I have so much to tell you I don’t even know where to start! The words are getting all jumbled up in my brain!  So much has happened over the past week or so…  I think I will start with the Wedding.

So as you all may know by now I have spent the last few weeks eagerly anticipating my best friends wedding.  Weddings make me go a bit silly.  I get so crazily excited over them!  I’m happy to report that the day was beautiful and went off without a glitch!  Well, there was the issue with my shoe not having a flower attached where there should be a flower attached but we are so awesome that we fixed it within a blink of an eye!  No man, woman or shoe was going to ruin this day!  No siree bob!

On the Thursday before the wedding I went and got myself a nice spray tan.  In my opinion everyone looks better with a tan.  The bride tends to disagree and believes that the unsightly pallor of death is beautiful… shudder. We won’t go there!  So I got myself all bronzed up and was feeling GOOD!

Saturday rolled around and we were all getting right into the hair and makeup, painting our nails and moisturising our skins and what-have-you and once we were all sufficiently dolled up we got into our dresses.  I was dreading the thought of feeling like the ‘fat bridesmaid’ again, a feeling I know only too well after being in 2 wedding parties, but I didn’t!  I was really happy with the way that I looked.  Of course I looked at photos later and had pangs of, “Oh my fat arms!” and “Curse you double chin!” but overall I didn’t feel like I was alien to the other bridesmaids and that felt insanely good.

Concentrating on not falling over!

 

Nothing better than having your hair and makeup done!

I was feeling SO good that I got myself incredibly drunk.  Yep.  Drunk.  I was a dancing, singing, twirling, tumbling mess of a woman.  Disgraceful!  But ridiculously fun. 😉

And oh my goodness, the things I ATE that weekend.  I had bacon and eggs, lollies galore, soft drinks, chips, cheese, sausages, MACDONALDS… all the things I would never EVER dream of eating I ate like I had never seen food before IN MY LIFE.

I think deep down I was testing myself – “How much can I eat before I start putting on weight?  If I eat MacDonalds will I get back to Sydney 4kg heavier?”.  In the past a weekend of relaxed eating would land me in all sorts of trouble so when I did finally step on the scales back at home I felt nauseous.

I looked down at the scales and I was only 700g heavier.  And I felt okay about that!  Then a couple days later of eating well and I was back to my pre-wedding weekend weight.  Hello metabolism!  Thanks for coming back to me!  It’s so awesome to have you.  Please stick around.

Speaking of weight I thought I would revisit that goal I set at the end of September, the goal of losing 2kg before the end of October.  I actually had forgotten at the time to record my weight but I THINK  I was 75.5kg.  Now I am 73.7kg.  So CLOSE!  Missed it by “that much”.  But on the plus side I’m now only 3.7kg away from getting to my next goal of 70kg.  And you know what that means folks!  I will be only 2kg away from my ULTIMATE goal of 68kg!  Sweet Mary Mother of God!  I can NOT believe it!

I’d LOVE to be able to get to 68kg by the end of the year but my body likes to do things according to it’s own schedule so I will just keep pushing on until I get there.

I have some good posts coming up!  My Zumba review, protein trial update, tips to survive the holiday season… I’m revving up people!  Stay tuned!

Discussion time!  Do you have issues with your metabolism?  What are some of the things you do to combat a sluggish metabolism?

23 Responses to “Weddings Make Me Silly!”

  1. Jade November 4, 2010 at 2:22 pm #

    You look great 🙂 and sounds like you had a blast!!! Looking forward to your reviews and tips 😀

    • Amanda November 4, 2010 at 2:24 pm #

      Thanks Jade! It was the most relaxed I have been in a long time!

  2. Julia November 4, 2010 at 2:31 pm #

    I have a thing about my arms as well! But you looked lovely and the dress was gorgeous!

  3. Tina November 4, 2010 at 4:46 pm #

    You looked stunning! As did the bride who I did see on her blog, can’t wait to see more pics of her dress! And your dress was gorgeous too. Glad you enjoyed yourself and had some yummy treats while you were there 🙂 Yes, that includes Maccas!

    • Amanda November 4, 2010 at 5:46 pm #

      Haha thank you Tina! Maccas was MOST enjoyable when I had a hangover the next day. See I don’t really drink anymore but I made an exception! Hurt like hell the next day!!

  4. bonne_santé November 4, 2010 at 8:45 pm #

    You are GLOWING! Honestly, you look so healthy and vibrant, bow chicka wow wow! It’s so funny you mention the ‘testing yourself to see how much I can eat before I get fat’ because I do the exact same thing! Self-sabotage I tell you. I’m hoping i’ll get over it – great to hear you bounced right back and into the game.
    x

    • Amanda November 5, 2010 at 7:39 am #

      Aw thank you honey! Self sabotage is not something I hand encountered for a while! Ha! But I’m all on track now and ready to go! 🙂

  5. Polly6034 November 4, 2010 at 9:27 pm #

    Ultimate compliment for you, Mandy: my husband looked over at the computer a few minutes ago and said “why are you looking at hot chicks on the internet?” – absolutely agree with him, you look gorgeous 🙂

    • Amanda November 5, 2010 at 7:41 am #

      Bwahahaha! That just made me giggle like a school girl! 😀

  6. Alixandra November 5, 2010 at 12:30 am #

    You are SO pretty and everyone who has said glowing is right! Keep it up girl!

    • Amanda November 5, 2010 at 7:41 am #

      Thank you! 😀

  7. Muriel November 5, 2010 at 12:30 am #

    Oh dear o dear Amanda! lol NOT McDonalds!! LOL jk… I love weddings too because everyone gets silly and drunk. Even the older people. Heheheheh I think we talked about that.
    Anyway, I agree with Jade, you looked great! keep looking ahead towards your goal. I think we (women) all go through that from time to time where we feel so gross and we are not satisfied where we are at. Like me right now for instance… I haven’t worked out in nearly a month bc I was sick, then I was experiencing extreme fatigue, and not I’m sick again!! And I just feel so gross and plump… but then some people make comments about me being so “skinny” and I’m just asking myself like “What? where?” My arms are not as toned, or my legs, or my abs!”… I got drunk twice this month… when I normally get drunk like twice a year.. LOL crazy… BUT somehow, we have to get back t thinking positive, search for our motivation, which is women like you, to get back on track and get cracking!! We have to enjoy life sometimes, if not what’s the point right?
    Congratulations on the bit of weight loss u accomplished!! Get it going!! xo M

    • Amanda November 5, 2010 at 7:43 am #

      I know! So grossss! Haha! Oh no Muriel! You’ll get back into it soon. I hope you feel better real quick! And you are so right. Life is for living! 😀

  8. leashieloo November 5, 2010 at 12:46 am #

    I think you looked gorgeous! Love the hair and the dress if fab 🙂

    • Amanda November 5, 2010 at 7:43 am #

      Thank you! We were quite lucky to find these lovely dresses and they were reasonably priced too!

  9. PoP November 5, 2010 at 1:20 am #

    You looked beautiful!!! Really lovely..and oh my you look very Swedish 😉
    All I can say is strength training baby!
    When I strength train my metabolism finally turns on! And when I stop off it goes again. Cardio and good diet = slow and steady results. Strength training = fat melting off on to the floor and being able to eat more food!
    Awesome 😀

    • Amanda November 5, 2010 at 7:44 am #

      Funny you should say as I do have a little swedish in me! 😉 I agree about the strength training. Massive fan over here! It really works.

  10. LuellaElla November 5, 2010 at 8:22 pm #

    Wow you look absolutely gorgeous! I’m sure your best friend was very grateful for having you around!

    With metabolisms, mine was terrible from extreme dieting as a teenager but I found once I started weights, everything changed! I never wanted to do weights before (of course, as every girl thinks, I though ‘but I don’t want to bulk up!’) but after reading all the information on Vogue I gave it a shot and the results have been fab.

    Keep up the great blogging Mandy!

    • Amanda November 6, 2010 at 8:27 am #

      Thanks LuellaElla! 🙂

      Urgh dieting is awful isn’t it? After years of hardcore dieting now is the only time in my life where I have successfully managed to lose a reasonable sum of weight!

  11. myherohegel November 10, 2010 at 10:39 am #

    You look AMAZING! Everyone who has said that you’re glowing with good health is totally right!

    As for metabolisms, I can’t really say from personal experience, but friends have recommended changing up your weights routines, lifting heavier, that kinda thing to get things moving again!
    HTH x

    • Amanda November 10, 2010 at 12:36 pm #

      Aw thank you Liz! 😀

      Everyone seems to agree that weights are the way to go! 😀

  12. Chanel November 12, 2010 at 10:01 pm #

    You should be so proud of your efforts – stunning!

    You looked absolutely beautiful, even though you were tanned 😉

    And you were the most amazing Matron of Honour anyone could ask for!

    Thank you so much xxx

    • Amanda November 13, 2010 at 8:08 am #

      Aw thank you! Aren’t you sweet?? 😉 x

Leave a Reply

