Don’t Miss Out!

26 Oct

I love a good spaghetti bolognese as much as the next person but spaghetti (or any pasta for that matter) just doesn’t seem to want to be my friend! Even though many pastas are low GI they just don’t seem to agree with me. I find I get incredibly bloated. Like, I seriously look like a pregnant lady at 4 months. Not cool.

So when my husband said he was making bolognese I was sad. Then a brilliant idea came to me! Quinoa! Oh how I love thee! I will have you with my pasta sauce, you superb little grain! And you will be delicious!

Delicious it was. I also added a serve of steamed vegetables and there you have it. I still get to have my favourite dinner without the bloat. I’ve also added extra nutrition with the quinoa and vegetables. I iz smart.

What healthy substitutes do you make when cooking?

21 Responses to “Don’t Miss Out!”

  1. Kathy Roser October 27, 2010 at 11:47 am #

    You have converted me.. I have been having it for lunch with tuna, spinach, chopped tomato and soft boiled egg warmed. Love it !!

    • Amanda October 27, 2010 at 1:34 pm #

      Yay! I love a good conversion! 😀 That sounds delicious!

  2. Shellet October 27, 2010 at 3:00 pm #

    I’m not much of a cook but last night my hubby made “rice” from cauliflower! He whizzed cauliflower in the food processor then heated in the microwave to steam it, pretty clever I thought!

    • Amanda October 27, 2010 at 3:10 pm #

      That’s a great idea! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

      • Underthesea December 29, 2010 at 7:51 am #

        I make this a bit more exciting by cooking finely chopped capsicum and spring onion in a saucepan, adding the whizzed up cauliflower along with a sprinkle of cauliflower.

        I also make cauliflower ‘mash’ – whiz up the cauliflower (trying to remove as much stalk as possible beforehand or it’ll be too wet), microwave it, add extra light Philly cream cheese and mix with a little salt.

        For two people I use 3 cups cauliflower and 2 tablespoons of cream cheese…

      • Amanda December 29, 2010 at 10:24 am #

        I’ve tried cauliflower mash in the past but haven’t been a huge fan. Might need to give your version a try! Thanks! 😀

      • Underthesea December 29, 2010 at 7:55 am #

        That should be a sprinkle of curry powder!! Cauliflower with a sprinkle of cauliflower wouldn’t be overly exciting!

  3. Katrina Adamson October 27, 2010 at 4:24 pm #

    Ok, ok, I’m going to Coles this afternoon to get some Quinoa. You have convinced me. I have the same issues as you do when I consume too much wheat, so I like the sound of it. Especially when spaghetti bolognese is husbands favourite and there is no chance of removing it from the dinner rotation.

    Thanks again for the wonderful advice 🙂

    • Amanda October 27, 2010 at 6:34 pm #

      I couldn’t find any in Coles! Only in Woolworths!

  4. jade October 28, 2010 at 2:31 pm #

    good on you for that!
    I need to steaql your frame of mind

  5. Laura October 28, 2010 at 4:05 pm #

    This isn’t related to home cooking, but I’d love to know your tips for eating out. For example, I’m heading out to dinner for a friend’s birthday tomorrow and it’s being held at a Thai restaurant where the food has been pre-booked as a banquet. Normally, I’d order my own safer version – vegie stir-fry or a clean salad – but because it’s been arranged out of my hands, I know the bulk of the mean will consist of stodgy noodles, deep-fried spring rolls and the like (all of which aren’t the best for a late dinner!)

    Do I eat less during the day to compensate for the impending meal? Or do I eat healthy during the day and fill myself before dinner so I eat little at night?!

    • Amanda October 28, 2010 at 7:39 pm #

      Hi Laura! Great question. When faced with a dinner like this there is no way that I want to miss out! I love food! Haha! So what I do is eat extremely well during the day – light breakfast, maybe fruit and yogurt, light salad lunch and some nuts for a snack. I’ll also train extra hard that day. Drink loads of water too as it keeps you full. Then you can relax at dinner! But take it easy. Don’t overdo it though! Be conscious of what you’re eating and enjoy it. Consider textures and flavours and chew slowly. Enjoy your dinner! 🙂

  6. Tina October 28, 2010 at 5:31 pm #

    I still have my Quinoa in the cupboard waiting to get made, must do that this weekend! Looks like it would go well with the bol sauce, yum!

    I found my Quinoa in Coles.

    • Amanda October 28, 2010 at 7:40 pm #

      Time to give it a go! Hope you like it! 🙂

  7. onehungrymonster November 1, 2010 at 11:57 am #

    I use Quinoa alot in my cooking, I love the taste and the fact that it doesn’t leave me bloated after. I have also started using Rice Milk, I love the taste, but, I don’t have that heavy feeling I normally get from drinking normally milk.

    • Amanda November 1, 2010 at 1:53 pm #

      I’m going to have to give rice milk a try! I don’t find I have too much of an issue with dairy unless I consume too much of it like when I was having 5 serves of low fat dairy a day it gave me quite an upset stomach!

  8. Chanel November 2, 2010 at 10:10 pm #

    I’ve substituted pasta with steamed vegies with my bolognese sauce before! You’ve reminded me I should do it more often – or even combine more vegies to bulk up a smaller amount of pasta.

    Although I like to follow recipes exactly to see what it’s like, after I’ve made it a couple of times, I feel comfortable with changing some things – sounds obvious, but like using less butter and using extra virgin olive oil instead (I don’t apply any changes to baking though… you have to be exact – unless you’re an awesome baker and making your own recipes I guess – could be a good thing to try! 😉 )

    • Amanda November 3, 2010 at 8:11 am #

      I need to get a vegetable spiraller so that I can make ‘pasta’ out of vegetables!

  9. lucy November 18, 2010 at 7:31 pm #

    I love this. I always substitute steamed carrots for pasta to let me have spag bol guilt free! I will definitely be trying this quinoa stuff, I need something different! (And thanks to PoP, I found a blog I can relate to) x

  10. Fitegic Planners December 12, 2010 at 10:05 am #

    From what you describe there is a good chance you are gluten sensitive. I found out about 3 years ago via following an elimination diet prescribed by my dermatologist (for eczema) that this was the case for me.

    Like you I have found many creative ways to enjoy my “pasta” and other gluten-free goodies.

    • Amanda December 12, 2010 at 11:23 am #

      It could definitely be the case. I had wheat cereal twice this week and it was a terrible idea!

Leave a Reply

