Lean Pork Stirfry & Guilt-Free Dessert!

25 Oct

Apologies in advance to my lovely vego readers!  Things are about to get meaty!

I love pork.  There are few things that I enjoy in life as much as I enjoy munching on crispy, salty pork crackling.  Bake me a nice piece of succulent pork and I will be as happy as a pig in mud!  Pun totally intended!

But alas, this deliciousness is not intended for those watching their waistline so I will settle with a lean pork stirfry instead.  Whilst we’re being good to our waistlines, why not be good to our animal friends too and choose free range meat?   The earth will thank you.

Now.  Let’s talk pork.  The following excerpt is from http://www.pork.com.au.  Check it out for all your pork needs!

Research conducted in 2009 into the benefits of lean, trimmed pork has found that, if you have type 2 diabetes and are overweight or obese, then regular lean pork intake may be beneficial. Specifically a high protein, lower carbohydrate diet that includes regular lean pork intake in conjunction with resistance exercise will give you excellent weight and fat loss results.

The most recent research that preceded this was the Pork Nutrition Survey which found that lean, trimmed pork is as lean as skinless chicken breast – and has half the fat of red meat. The survey also named pork as a low fat, high protein dietary source. The report – which based its research on actual pork cuts purchased in retail stores across Australia to accurately reflect the pork that ‘real’ consumers purchase everyday – concluded that pork is lean and nutrient dense. It contains essential vitamins such as B12, B6, thiamin, niacin, and minerals such as zinc, selenium, iron and magnesium.

In everyday language, this means that lean pork is beneficial for growth and maintaining nerves, cardiovascular function and muscle strength. Lean trimmed pork has something for everyone.

Great news about pork right there folks!  So what did I do with my pork to make it not only nutritious but delicious as well?  Read on!

Lean Pork Stirfry

I’m not great with measuring things out when I am in the kitchen creating my own concoctions but here is roughly what went into this stiryfry:

  • 4 lean pork loin medallions (visible fat trimmed, cut into strips)
  • 2 bunches of bok choy (cut in half so you have stems and leaves)
  • 1/2 red capsicum (cut into strips)
  • 1 green capsicum (cut into strips)
  • 1 brown onion (halved and cut into chunks)
  • 3 garlic cloves (minced)
  • 1/2 cup of soy sauce
  • 2 tablespoons of rice wine vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon of honey
  • Chili to taste
  • 1/2 tablespoon of peanut oil
  • Brown rice to serve

Combine the garlic, soy sauce, rice wine vinegar, honey and chili and pour over pork strips.  Leave to marinade in the fridge for an hour or so.

Heat oil in a wok or frying pan and saute onion until soft.  Add pork and cook until pork has turned white all over (if you are unsure if it has cooked through take a piece and slice through to see).  Add vegetables and cook until just softened.  Serve with brown rice (a half a cup is enough).  Easy peasy pork!

As the title suggests, this post also includes a guilt free dessert!  How much do you want it?  I can’t hear you!  Okay, okay stop screaming at me.  Here it is!

*Cue heavenly music*

I introduce to you my Choc-Banana-Coconut Delight!  At about 200 calories (depending on the size of your banana eg. a large banana is 122 calories) this baby is virtually guilt free.  (Note:  The main meal contains approximately 400 calories so you will need to be the judge on whether you can allocate calories to dessert aftewards!)

Simply chop up a banana and freeze it overnight.  Put it in your food processor with a teaspoon of cocoa powder, a teaspoon of honey and a teaspoon of dessicated coconut or coconut flakes.  Blend until it resembles a soft serve ice-cream consistency, garnish with a pinch of dessicated coconut, admire your handiwork and then gobble down!  Yum!

I am so into frozen bananas right now!  Have you tried it yet?

 

 

9 Responses to “Lean Pork Stirfry & Guilt-Free Dessert!”

  1. Katrina Adamson October 25, 2010 at 1:27 pm #

    I will be trying both of these tomorrow night! They both look delicious. Yum yum!

    • Amanda October 25, 2010 at 1:28 pm #

      Get into it Trina!! 😀

  2. Tina October 25, 2010 at 1:33 pm #

    How timely is this post?! I’m making pork stirfry tonight but plan on serving it with some noodles (husband is not into brown rice so it’s not on the menu often). I’m going to try your recipe. Still haven’t tried frozen bananas so I should definitely get onto that. Your dessert looks delicious!!!!!!!!

    • Amanda October 25, 2010 at 1:36 pm #

      My hubby doesn’t usually like brown rice either but he said he enjoyed this mainly because it was in the sauce. 😉

      Frozen bananas! You must start having them immediately!

  3. bonne_santé October 25, 2010 at 1:39 pm #

    YUM.
    (Am I still allowed to say that as a vego? I can appreciate the look of a good stir-fry 🙂

    • Amanda October 25, 2010 at 1:41 pm #

      LOL! I’ll allow you Katy! You can always just substitute the meat with some of your crazy (yet interesting!) concoctions! 😉

  4. pursuitofhealthfulness October 25, 2010 at 2:56 pm #

    I love banana soft-serve! Now, I buy bananas in bulk, just waiting for them to turn brown, so that I can pop them in the freezer! Ha.

    • Amanda October 25, 2010 at 3:44 pm #

      LOL! So do I! I especially get excited when I see very ripe bananas on sale at the grocery store. 😉

  5. leashieloo October 26, 2010 at 1:12 am #

    I LOVE frozen bananas. It never fails to amaze me when they magically turn into soft serve ice cream.

Leave a Reply

