I’m Nuts for Coconuts!

19 Oct

Coconut water is being touted by celebrities and health nuts as some sort of miracle drink so of course I had to try it for myself!

Cruising through my supermarket I noticed cans of Ayam Coconut Water on sale so I grabbed one (albeit apprehensively) to try.

The label said:

– No Added Water
– No Added Sugar
– No Artificial Flavours or Colours
– Gluten Free

The contents were basically 97% coconut water and 3% pulp.

So what’s the deal? Why is everyone drinking it?

Coconut water is the clear liquid found inside a young coconut. It’s low fat, low carb, low in naturally occurring sugars and contains only 25 calories per 100ml. That’s an incredible difference to what most juices and soft drinks contain!

It’s naturally packed with vitamins and minerals too.  Zinc, selenium, iodine, sulfur, manganese, boron, molybdenum, ascorbic acid and B-group vitamins can all be found in coconut water.

It has great uses as a sports drink.  In fact, it’s better than the sugary, brightly coloured junk you find in the shops! Coconut is a natural isotonic and contains calcium, magnesium, phosphorus, sodium and potassium.  Great for supreme athletes like myself *cough*.

You can find it in cans, bottles and juice boxes but the best way to get coconut water is straight from the source – the coconut itself.  Look for it at your local fruit market!

Wow – that all sounds incredible! But what does it TASTE like?

Cracking open the can I felt that ‘first taste’ anxiety.  I wanted so badly to like it — and I did!  I thought it was refreshing and delicious.  I especially liked the little bits of pulp floating around.  To be honest, I have been day-dreaming about it ever since… I really need to get my hands on some more!  It’s like a trip to a tropical paradise in liquid form.  And with all these nutritional benefits I’ll definitely be stocking up and drinking it regularly!  Just in time for summer!

Have you tried coconut water yet? What did you think?

ETA: I have just found out that Ayam stocks this in Woolworths Supermarkets only so head on over to your local Woolworths ASAP!

15 Responses to “I’m Nuts for Coconuts!”

  1. NiwaAfroOz October 20, 2010 at 10:19 am #

    It’s funny how coconut water has suddenly become a trend when countries in the tropics have been drinking for centuries. Nothing compares to the water straight out of a young coconut. Having said that I was still excited when Boost Juice created a range of coconut water, however at $3.5 for 350ml it was too expensive. When I discovered the Ayam coconut water at a fraction of the price it just made sense.

    • Amanda October 20, 2010 at 10:29 am #

      I know! Isn’t it funny how things that have been around forever suddenly get a huge amount of exposure? $3.50 is just ludicrous.

  2. hollypop October 20, 2010 at 10:58 am #

    hi amanda!
    i love coconut water. i prefer it from a young fresh coconut with a bit of lime or even some strawberries floating in it. delicious.
    the boost one is hideous chloriney tasting.
    this is the best one out of a container: http://www.cocopure.com.au/coconut-butter/coconut-water/coconut-water.html organic and stuff
    also check out these wicked coconut butters omgomg.
    http://www.cocopure.com.au/coconut-butter/coconut-butter.html

    • Amanda October 20, 2010 at 12:30 pm #

      Ooooh you put the lime in the coconut? And drank them both up? haha 😉

      Thanks for the links! I love everything coconut! 😀

  3. Gillian October 20, 2010 at 11:07 am #

    I am loving your blog posts 🙂
    Now I need to track down some quinoa AND coconut water. It does sound like a perfect summer drink!

    • Amanda October 20, 2010 at 12:30 pm #

      Thank you! I’m glad you enjoy them!

      I’m eating quinoa right now… wish I had some coconut water… 😉

  4. leashieloo October 20, 2010 at 11:36 am #

    Coconut water is delish on occasion. I associate it with vacations though 🙂 My boyfriend’s father is from Costa Rica and when we visit, they drink it fresh from the tree. There’s no denying the healthy benefits, I say drink up!

    • Amanda October 20, 2010 at 12:32 pm #

      Oh Costa Ricccccaaaaa! Jealous! I will have to investigate how much coconuts are here!

  5. Shellet October 20, 2010 at 1:18 pm #

    You keep posting blogs about things I’ve been meaning to try! This will definately be on my shopping list this week 🙂

    • Amanda October 20, 2010 at 1:23 pm #

      Let me know what you think of it Shellet!

  6. PoP October 20, 2010 at 7:32 pm #

    I read in one of The PH Miracle books by a microbiologist that coconut water/ milk is the closest thing on earth to human breast milk and human blood. So its got to be good for us right? Apparently in the Pacific in WWII when they ran out of blood for injured soldiers they used…yes you guessed it…coconuts!
    AND at the end of the day they are yumalicious! Who can argue with that 😉

    • Amanda October 20, 2010 at 9:50 pm #

      Wowsa! That’s some interesting coconut trivia right there! Love it! 😀

  7. bonne_santé October 20, 2010 at 11:03 pm #

    Mmmm you know how I feel about these delicious nuts…favourite food alert! The water is so expensive though – I prefer to buy the whole young coconut, crack it open (in lieu of a beer perhaps?), drink the water through a swizzle straw & scrape out the meat.
    The perfect snack!

    • Amanda October 21, 2010 at 7:25 am #

      How much have you seen the young coconuts for Katey?

  8. Chanel October 21, 2010 at 1:24 pm #

    OMG I love coconut-ANYTHING – I need to try this ASAP! I need to be transported to a tropical paradise right now please! 😀

Leave a Reply

