Quinoa! Nature’s Superfood!

17 Oct

I’ve only just recently heard of quinoa (pronounced ‘keen-wa’) and have been meaning to try it. Apparently I’m a bit slow because people have been buzzing about this little wonder for a while. I’m used to being one of the first to hop on a bandwagon so obviously I had to get onto this one quick smart!

I found it hiding away in the health food section of Woolworths. If you don’t go down this aisle you really should start. It is a haven for all things nutritious, tasty and of course, healthy!

Quinoa is surprisingly high in protein. It also has excellent amounts of calcium, phosphorus, iron and magnesium. It is low GI (which should know I am a massive fan of) and is rich in dietary fibre. So you can really see why it’s touted as one of nature’s superfoods!

To prepare the quinoa you must wash it first. Rinse a cup of quinoa under water in a sieve. Put the rinsed quinoa in a pot. Pour a cup and a half of water over the quinoa and then bring to the boil. Once boiling reduce to a low simmer and put a lid on the pot. Leave for 20 minutes.

Quinoa has many uses – you can have it as a breakfast food by adding some fruit, yoghurt and honey, put it in your salad, or use it as a substitute for rice like I have here.

I marinated some chicken breasts in lemon, chili, garlic and coriander and then grilled. I sliced the chicken and placed it on a half a cup mound of quinoa, added some steamed vegetables and drizzled a little soy sauce. It was DELICIOUS. Even my husband liked it! It has a grainy texture which is a little similar to cous cous but better! So give it a try ASAP!

13 Responses to “Quinoa! Nature’s Superfood!”

  1. Skye Frank October 17, 2010 at 11:42 am #

    mmm sounds delicious I am allways telling people the healthy food tastes good too! http://skyefrank.wordpress.com/2010/10/15/i-love-to-eat/

    thanks for sharing!

  2. Littlechoo October 17, 2010 at 12:18 pm #

    Isn’t it awesome?! I also use it to “fill out” and add extra protein in meals that I may use minced meat in. Like chilli con carne, bolognaise, etc. A really great high protein, low fat meal is turkey chilli con carne, substituting half of the minced turkey with cooked quinoa. Awesome!

    • Amanda October 17, 2010 at 12:37 pm #

      I think it is just delicious! Really enjoyed it. Great tips there! I love chilli con carne!

  3. Gillian October 17, 2010 at 10:40 pm #

    Your dinner looks amazing! I like the idea of using it in breakfast too, will be trying it out this week!

  4. Shellet October 17, 2010 at 11:05 pm #

    I too have been meaning to try this for ages, and I also love the health food aisle of Woolies, I must put the two together and finally get me some Quinoa!

  5. mercade October 18, 2010 at 4:28 am #

    That looks fabulous! I, too, have been meaning to try some! Like you, I just have never gotten around to it! I must put this on my grocery list for next week!

    Thanks!

  6. leashieloo October 18, 2010 at 6:22 am #

    Yum, looks delish! I’ve only tried to once but you make me wwant to try it again 🙂

  7. Amanda October 18, 2010 at 8:26 am #

    I am LOVING everyone’s excitement about trying quinoa! Share your recipe with me and I’ll pop them up on the site. Send to amandamweekes@gmail.com 🙂

  8. Laura (starloz) October 18, 2010 at 4:28 pm #

    i’m in love with ‘keen-wa’

  9. Caroline October 23, 2010 at 1:19 pm #

    I love the stuff, particularly as a vegetarian given it’s so high in protein. Have you tried it ‘sweet’ for breakfast?? It’s awesome.

    • Amanda October 23, 2010 at 4:50 pm #

      No not yet! I’m having trouble imagining it sweet but I’ve heard people rave about it though!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Oh My SALAD! « Me vs. The Bulge - October 22, 2010

    […] Quinoa […]

  2. The Dog Days Are Over! « Me vs. The Bulge - December 22, 2010

    […] I fell in love with quinoa! […]

Leave a Reply

