Protein Products – Trial Continues!

14 Oct

Protein powder is not good with too much water.  Let me start off by saying that.  It tastes like watered down dirt and I was not happy with this result at all.  Alright, now that I have said that let’s talk about how the protein trial is going.

I had my first protein shake on Tuesday after my group training session.  I tried it with skim milk and it was really quite tasty!  Made with skim milk it’s only 185 calories and I found it to be very filling.  I made a salad to eat afterward and I struggled to eat it!  I had to eat it in two lots!  Usually I just gobble that shit down!  Also,  I did note that I wasn’t too sore the next day.  Even after doing 100 tricep dips (I did more than just the dips, might I add)!  That usually makes me sore for days!  So it seems that it works quite well so far.

On Wednesday I finally addressed an issue that I have been referring to as Toe-gate 2010.  You see, last week at indoor soccer I was playing in goals and a girl kicked me hard in the big toe.  I thought that I was going to be bleeding when I took my shoe off!  I saw that there was a small crack in my toenail and thought that was it.  Wrong.  The next morning the toe had blown up to double it’s usual size so when I got to work on Friday morning I iced it on and off throughout the day.

By Monday night the toe was still swollen and I was getting concerned.  I showed it around to a few people at work (“Hey! Have you seen my toe??  What do you think is wrong with my toe???”) without much of a conclusion as to what could be wrong.  Eventually I decided on Wednesday that  I would get an actual Doctor to look at it and see what they thought.

After having an x-ray it was determined that the toe had no joint or bone damage, thank god, and all I had to do was strap it up, take some nurofen and wait for the swelling to go down.  I can’t play indoor soccer tonight, which I am quite upset about, however the toe is already getting better so you win some, you lose some!

Okay, let’s cut to today with the water and the protein powder incident.  I added a scoop of protein powder to 300mls of water after my training session today (no exercises that included the toe!) and it tasted awful.  Really, really bad.   I had mistakenly thought that the container said to add it to 300mls of water but it was actually 200mls!   So I will remember tomorrow to use the right amount of water.   It wasn’t as filling with water than it is with milk but I’m hoping that I get the same results.

Things have been pretty busy with work at the moment so I do apologise that I haven’t posted for a few days but I have some interesting stuff coming up including my first tastes of quinoa and coconut water!  Stay tuned!  It’s RIVETING!  Don’t you dare yawn.  You know you’ll read it.

I would love some ideas for upcoming blog posts – what would you like to read about?

Love this poster! (found on http://weheartit.com/)

3 Responses to “Protein Products – Trial Continues!”

  1. mercade October 14, 2010 at 10:42 pm #

    I’m glad someone is doing this trial! I have always been against taking anything artificial, but am finding these days that I don’t get enough protein! I must be the only American around who doesn’t eat tons of protein! It is difficult for me to get just the minimum of my body’s RDA on a daily basis. Some days I just cook some pasta with olive oil and spices and that’s my meal. I get my 2 egg whites every morning and protein at either lunch or dinner, but not both most days.

    So, test away! I’m anxiously awaiting your results!

    Oh! My biggest concern is all the artificial garbage they load these protein powders with. I’m a clean eater and stay away from all that crap, so if you can include what types of protein powders you try, that’d be great!

    • Amanda October 15, 2010 at 7:00 am #

      Hi mercade! I’m also usually against artificial ‘foods’ and prefer to eat clean too but I was really feeling I needed to address my issues with recovery. And hey, if it helps strip away the fat a little easier I’m not opposed to that! These last few kilos are going to be stubborn – I can just feel it! Check out the first post of the trial – I have included links and pictures of the product brand I am using, vitalstrength. It may just be an Aussie brand though…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ah, Push It. Push It Good. « Me vs. The Bulge - October 21, 2010

    […] Monday I went for my first run since injuring ‘the toe’ and it felt okay. I had to stop a few times to stretch but apart from that I managed 25 minutes.  […]

Leave a Reply

