Protein Products – Trial Begins!

11 Oct

For a little while now I have been considering protein shakes and specifically whether they would be of any benefit to me. I train 6 – 7 sessions a week and am still having issues with recovery even though I do stretch, foam roll, get massages and have long soaks in the tub!

Reading other blogs and advice from my lovely twitter followers has led me to think that maybe protein shakes could be a good option for me so I considered it a sign when Vitalstrength announced the were giving some samples away to their followers on their Facebook page. I contacted them and they were kind enough to send me a few goodies to try!

I will be trying the Carb Clear Protein Bars (Chocolate and Cherry Coconut) and the Define Womens High Protein Powder (Chocolate) and I have passed over the Hydroxy Liquid Lean capsules to the lovely Chanel from Vineyards, Veils & Vows who is soon to be married (squeal! OMG!). She will be trialling them and I will report back.

As I was rushing to my hair appointment on Friday afternoon (in preparation for Chanel’s Hens Day!), I grabbed the Cherry Coconut Carb Clear bar to have as a snack. The bar contains only 205 calories but has a whopping 17.5g of protein! Protein makes for a great snack as it keeps you full and provides you with long lasting energy – just what I need!

What I liked about the bar was that it took a long time to eat and by the time I had finished it I was quite full. The flavour was quite good too – it wasn’t overly sweet and had a good texture. I didn’t even think about food again until dinner time which is very unlike me! 😉

I’ll give the protein powder a whirl tomorrow after my training session and let you know how it goes!

14 Responses to “Protein Products – Trial Begins!”

  1. PoP October 11, 2010 at 9:17 pm #

    I have been thinking about this too. So I’m glad I can live via you 😉
    I just always assume they are for really fit people who need the calories, but if they keep you full then maybe they can be incorporated into any diet 🙂
    I’m be reading 🙂

    • Amanda October 11, 2010 at 9:51 pm #

      Haha I too just thought they were for athletes but hey, I’m sort of an athlete now right?? 😉

      • PoP October 11, 2010 at 10:53 pm #

        Well you do run up and down the beach with 20kg weigh packs on your back… so I’d say yes 🙂

  2. The Wench October 11, 2010 at 10:52 pm #

    I always eat Clif protein bars with 20g of protein.. usually that’s breakfast.

  3. Chanel October 12, 2010 at 9:06 am #

    Woohoo! Liquid Lean 😀

    I’m very interested to see if this helps your recovery! I kind of miss taking protein shakes and bars, they’re so good for keeping you full 😀

  4. myherohegel October 12, 2010 at 9:16 am #

    Just be careful with the Liquid Lean- Hydroxy products are known to have some similar side effects to stimulants, so can make you feel ‘speedy’.

    And it’s great to finally hear of a protein bar that tastes good! The last one I had was a Musashi one, and I threw it out after one bite. Euch!!

    • Amanda October 12, 2010 at 9:41 am #

      I think this one is a bit different. It doesn’t contain stimulants – all natural ingredients. 🙂

      And thanks for the props! 😀

  5. myherohegel October 12, 2010 at 9:19 am #

    Oh and I don’t have a Twitter, but just saw your tweet about being so close to your goal weight- CONGRATS!! That’s fantastic, you’ve worked so hard and you’re on the home straight now! Woo WOO!

  6. Natters October 12, 2010 at 1:04 pm #

    I have never gone for the protein shake – always figured they were so high in calories. However, I did used to have a packet protein crisps as an afternoon snack. I am a salty/savoury tooth much more than sweets, and things like a packet of chips would be more my sort of craving than chocolate. So when I used to go to PT at Vision my trainer suggested these crisps. They sell them, but I found them at the supermarket too.

    If that’s your kind of thing I recommend them. I don’t have them anymore … and don’t crave naughty snacks anymore anyway.

    • Amanda October 12, 2010 at 2:45 pm #

      Thanks for that Natters! I do lovely a savoury delight! This shake is quite low in calories – 185 cals with skim milk or 97 cals with water.

  7. Littlechoo October 17, 2010 at 12:28 pm #

    I’ve used protein powders on and off for years in a never ending quest to find one that satisfies my needs. Some work better than others but the taste does get to me… So I now add protein powders to smoothies in the morning or afternoon and find them easier to drink. I’m also incorporating fresh fruits into each one. My fave afternoon one at the moment is a scoop of chocolate protein powder, 200ml light soy milk and a handful of fresh strawberries, all blended up together. It satisfies my afternoon chocolate craving too!

    • Amanda October 17, 2010 at 12:38 pm #

      Yes – I must say I enjoy it more with milk so I will need to look into bringing blender to work so I can make protein smoothies!

  8. KristinaLiana October 26, 2010 at 9:17 am #

    How’s Chanel going on the Hydroxy Lean Capsules? Results?

    • Amanda October 26, 2010 at 9:20 am #

      She’s going really well! She’s had some really great results so far but hasn’t had time to post a review (the wedding is this Saturday!). As soon as she can type something up for me I’ll post it. 😀

Leave a Reply

