Brutal Beach Workout!

6 Oct

Dawn. It’s a beautiful morning. The sun is rising over the water and I’m feeling fresh. “Oh what a beautiful mooooorning, oh what a beautiful day! I’ve got a wonderful feeeeeliii-” wait. What’s that? The sounds of car tires.  I look. Oh.  She’s here. “MORNING!”, she enthusiastically shouts. “Morning…”, I meekly reply.  Because I know what’s about to happen. All hell is about to break loose.

She’s tugging from the boot of her car what appears to be a giant red Frankfurt. A giant red 20kg Frankfurt. Oh this is not going to be good. She’s grinning at me like a maniac. I blink in disbelief. This is getting worse by the second.

My Nemisis

Down to the sand we head and it begins.  First I’m running down to the water and with the Frankfurt on my back.  Then I’m running without the Frankfurt.  Then with the Frankfurt.  Then without.  And on it goes until I feel like I’m going to throw up, pass out or do both simultaneously.  “This is good”, I’m thinking. “This is what you need. Up the intensity! You are strong damn it! A machine! Get it girl!”.

Then I’m doing push ups. I do them here. I do them there. I do them everywhere. I can do them in a hat, I can do them on a cat… No probably not on a cat.  It would not appreciate that at all.

Back to running! Oh blistering agony! Wait. I’m not supposed to exaggerate. Um… I’m feeling very worked I should say.

Pain is my friend

Then, guess what?! Step ups! I do them on small steps, I do them on large steps. I am a step up warrior. I will step up on your face if you let me. Please let me. At least consider it.  It will be fun!  I promise.  No… it won’t hurt a bit!  I swear.

Possibly about to fall on my face

And thennnnnn… Running again! With the Frankfurt in my hand by my side! This was absolutely my least favorite thing to do. 20kg… It’s like carrying around a 5 year old with one hand. Not particularly pleasant.

Pain is my... oh stuff it, pain is NOT my friend!

A close second in the least favorite stakes was the clean and press, Frankfurt style. Vomit.

Raaaaahhh! I am a MACHINE!

With the end drawing near I finished the session with a couple of sprints (on the concrete – Nat finally showed her softer side!), a few more pushups and a plank for good measure.

Now. That was one crazy session but it really kick started the weight loss again, let me tell you! I have only 200g to go before I hit my goal of 75kg. I can feel it in my waters… It’s coming. Oh. It. Is. Coming.

So there you have it! A killer workout designed by Natalie Carter of New Outlook Fitness. Will you be trying it soon? 😉

P.S. New pic added to The Backstory if you would like to check it out!

22 Responses to “Brutal Beach Workout!”

  1. leashieloo October 6, 2010 at 10:10 am #

    Haha, wow! You were put to work, that frankfurter looks scary…but probably effective. At least you had the gorgeous scenery to soothe you, I wish I lived by a beach!

    • Amanda October 6, 2010 at 10:14 am #

      Wasn’t I EVER?! That frankfurt is relentless. I love living near the beach! I wish everyone could experience it! 😀

  2. jade October 6, 2010 at 10:45 am #

    you motivate me, you make me want to work harder. thank you!

    • Amanda October 6, 2010 at 12:39 pm #

      Aww thanks Jade! That is a very sweet comment. Now you made me blush. *shucks*

  3. mercade October 6, 2010 at 10:48 am #

    OMG! That was amazing! I think I lost 2 lbs. just reading this and looking at the pictures – that’s how hard it looked!

    Amazing job!

    I’m near beaches, but would still have to drive a bit to get there. I wish I could get one of those sand bags. They appear to be very versatile!

    So, when are you doing this one again? ; )

    • Amanda October 6, 2010 at 12:40 pm #

      Hahaha Mercade! Hilarious!

      Oh you can do a million and one things with the damn frankfurt. It’s evil.

      Ummm… soon? Haha I just did a session and think I did like 300 shoulder presses and 300 side raises with 2.5kg weights. I can’t feel my arms. LOL!

  4. Chanel October 6, 2010 at 11:09 am #

    Hahaha wow. The frankfurter from hell (exagerration again…). Well done – beautiful backdrop! Farewell 200g! 😀

    • Amanda October 6, 2010 at 12:41 pm #

      The Frankfurter is coming for you Chanel! Beware! It told me!

      • Chanel October 6, 2010 at 12:51 pm #

        LOL that’s funny.

        …You’re serious aren’t you? 😉

      • Amanda October 6, 2010 at 12:58 pm #

        Maybe… maybe not… only Frankfurter will tell. I mean time.

  5. Lola October 6, 2010 at 12:08 pm #

    Wow that looks very intense! Sure puts my 12 kilo kettlebell to shame 🙂 Good work, and 200g is nothing! Congrats.

    • Amanda October 6, 2010 at 12:42 pm #

      12kg kettle bell is still awesome! I don’t use the frankfurt every session. 😉

  6. Bethany October 6, 2010 at 12:34 pm #

    She is out of control and so are you for getting through that! GOOD WORK!

    • Amanda October 6, 2010 at 12:42 pm #

      Yep! She is MENTAL. I love her. 😀

  7. Leanne October 6, 2010 at 1:12 pm #

    Awesome workout!! love ur t-shirt

    • Amanda October 6, 2010 at 1:30 pm #

      Thanks Leanne! My favourite band. 😉

  8. Polly6034 October 6, 2010 at 2:15 pm #

    Ooo… the Frankfurter looks almost as bad as the Aquabag – i.e. a huge bag filled with 15-20kg of water. Heavy + water moving inside the bag = very hard training session!

    Love this post, looks like you worked hard! And you’re looking great!!

    • Amanda October 6, 2010 at 2:17 pm #

      It was enough to just carry the damn thing with sand in it let alone water! I cannot imagine! LOL

      Nawwwww… thanks girl! It actually set in when I saw these photos that I AM changing. 🙂

  9. PoP October 6, 2010 at 11:48 pm #

    Jesus! Um nope not any time soon..or ever 😉
    On the plus these are the first pictures of u I’ve seen since your about me page and you look tiny 🙂

    Keep it up.
    You are a savage lady with warrior written all over your face 🙂

    • Amanda October 7, 2010 at 7:15 am #

      😀 thanks pop! That totally put a smile on my dial. Nice way to start the day! X

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ah, Push It. Push It Good. « Me vs. The Bulge - October 21, 2010

    […] marked the return of my nemesis – the 20kg sandbag. Started off with some deadlifts and then moved into lunges holding the sandbag against my chest. […]

  2. Work It! « Me Vs. The Bulge – A Weight Loss Blog! - April 6, 2011

    […] haven’t done a workout post for a while!  The last one was in October and I’ve come a long way, […]

Leave a Reply

