I’m Ready to Kick ASS!

2 Oct

I certainly am!

Right.  I’m pretty much out of my funk and I am ready to kick some chubby ass.  I’ve got my meals all planned out, my exercise intensity has been increased (look out for my killer beach work out post coming soon!) and I’ve even broke that pesky 76kg mark!  Hello 75.7kg!  How nice to meet you!  Please don’t hang around for too long as I’d like to meet 75kg real soon!  K?

So, the purpose of redesigning my meal plan was so that I could get more variety (side note – I say “so” way too much… and I’m not sure I can stop, so – haha there it is again – you will just have to deal with it!).  I’m really looking forward to my new meals!  Here’s a sneak peak:

Breakfasts:

Lunches:

  • Grilled or poached chicken / tinned salmon / tinned tuna / boiled egg salads with lots of fresh vegetables, slices of avocado and a 1/4 cup serving of brown rice or quinoa drizzled with extra virgin olive oil and balsamic vinegar
  • Tuna, bok choy and broccoli with 1/4 of brown rice with a soy sauce and ginger dressing

Dinners

  • Grilled or steamed fish / lean cuts of pork, lamb or beef / grilled or poached chicken with 1/2 cup serving of brown rice, quinoa or legumes with mountains of salad or vegetables (okay, maybe not montains but a nice big serving!)
  • Stirfries with the above choices of protein with vegetables and 1/2 cup serving of brown rice with homemade soy, ginger, chili and garlic sauce

Snacks (2 per day):

  • A serving of fresh fruit
  • Low fat greek yoghurt with seeds
  • Protein shake
  • 1 boiled gg and 2 brown rice cakes
  • Low fat cottage cheese / lite hommus with carrot / celery sticks

Let’s hope this new meal plan starts melting the kilos!  I’m also going to try protein shakes for the first time.  I’m hoping that it can help increase my performance in my workouts.  There is a small amount of sucralose in most protein shakes though (about 0.03g) but I have done some research and I’m confident that such a small amount would have no adverse affect.   I’ll let you know how the protein shake experiment goes! 

Have you tried protein shakes?  What’s your experience with them?

18 Responses to “I’m Ready to Kick ASS!”

  1. kittykitty October 2, 2010 at 5:24 pm #

    All of those things sound delicious!!
    In the past, I have had protein shakes to help with recovery post-weight training.
    I’m not sure if there is one near where you live, but Australian Sports Nutrition (ASN) stores are great and super, super helpful when buying things like protein powder. There are many protein powders that taste MANKY, so see if they can give you a sample to try before you buy.
    That said, all of the BSN Lean Dessert Proteins taste pretty good, as do the Max’s.
    The last protein powder I had was the Aussie Bodies unflavoured one, which I used to blend with ice, low-fat yogurt, a splash of skim milk and a handful of berries. Went down quite well!!

    • Amanda October 2, 2010 at 5:45 pm #

      Thanks mate! I’ll check it out! 🙂

      Did you notice any difference in your recover when taking the protein shakes?

      • KittyKitty October 5, 2010 at 12:26 pm #

        To be honest, I was a bit take-it-or-leave it. I didn’t find a huge difference in the recovery, but I know some people swear by it (my old PT for one).

        They are great as a filling snack or as part of a meal on the go though!

  2. bonne_santé October 2, 2010 at 9:58 pm #

    Hey Amanda, diet plan looks awesome – I bow before your commitment and resolve!
    Re. protein shakes/supplements I was never a believer, but my naturopath actually had me on a really great rice protein powder (Metagenics) that was surprisingly effective! I noticed the difference in hunger levels, cravings & general well-being. Not to mention the sweet-ass guns that suddenly appeared where my puny, pasty upper arms used to be! Not really, but a girl can dream 🙂
    I think the main consideration is the ingredient list; the less processed the better. And as you say, added sugar is also a consideration. Sounds like you’ve got it sorted though!
    Good luck sticking it to those kilos – you are working so insanely hard, you deserve it!

    • Amanda October 2, 2010 at 11:16 pm #

      Hey Katey! Don’t lie – you know you are a machine!! 😉 Thanks for the support. I’m going to show those kilos who’s boss – don’t you worry about that! Good to hear about your protein shake experience! I hope I notice some difference when trying mine! 🙂

  3. Shellet October 4, 2010 at 1:02 pm #

    I think I really need to do a meal plan, I’m never organised and end up just eating whatever is convenient!

    I haven’t tried protein shakes personally but I have been thinking about it when I get more consistant with my running so I will be reading with interest to see how you go!

    • Amanda October 4, 2010 at 1:28 pm #

      Meal plans really help me stay on top of my food so I don’t think I could stay as focused without one! Makes everything so much easier. 🙂

  4. Laura (starloz) October 4, 2010 at 2:16 pm #

    are you becoming a food blogger?
    i love love love your meals, very yummo

    • Amanda October 4, 2010 at 2:50 pm #

      Oh no, not at all! But an important part of weight loss and exercise is food and fueling your body so I do put the spotlight on it!

  5. Liz N October 4, 2010 at 2:30 pm #

    Hi Amanda,
    First time I have commented on your blog – my goal this week is to get out there and meet some more bloggers – so please feel free to come and meet me too.

    In regards to your protein shake q, they won’t improve your performance during your workout as such, but may improve your recovery, especially if you add some fast acting carbs to the mix with it. For example you could have banana, skim milk, icecubes and protein powder. I’d count that one as a daily snack if you’re trying to reduce body fat. 🙂

    Best,
    Liz N

    • Amanda October 4, 2010 at 2:52 pm #

      Hi Liz! Thanks for your comment. I will definitely check your blog out. 🙂

      Thanks for the advice also! I will keep that in mind.

  6. Chanel October 5, 2010 at 10:39 am #

    The new menu sounds great! And fantastic to get under the 76kg!!

    I used to drink protein shakes – I really liked them, for the taste and how hunger-satisfying they are. I stopped when I ran out though, and didn’t buy more haha. I can’t recall if they made a difference to me physically…

    • Amanda October 5, 2010 at 10:45 am #

      Make that 75.2kg as of today! 😀

      My breakfast was fricken amazing this morning. I chopped up 2 small mushrooms, half a tomato, a few slices of red capsicum and a small handful of baby spinach and zapped it in the microwave for 90 secs. Then I beat 2 eggs and crumbled in a little reduced fat fetta and poured this on top of the veggies and zapped for a further 90 secs. Voila! So good!!!

      • KittyKitty October 5, 2010 at 12:29 pm #

        Ah you’re so close to 75kg! Go you!

        That breakfast sounds amazing too. My favourite at the moment is to crack a couple of eggs into a pan and lightly scramble, and when they’re done just chuck in a couple of thin slices of low sodium ham until they’re warm. Put on a wholegrain tortilla with some baby spinach leaves, roll up and eat. They are really handy to eat on public transport 🙂

      • Amanda October 5, 2010 at 12:34 pm #

        Yum yum! That sounds great! 😀

        Yay I’m so looking forward to 75kg! It’s incredible to think that not so long ago I never thought I would get past 80kg!

        I’ve had lots of mixed reviews about protein shakes so I’m looking forward to trying it for myself!

  7. katdoesdiets October 6, 2010 at 1:18 am #

    I love my whey protein. I have at least one a day usually. Especially on strength training days. I usually buy it with stevia.

    • Amanda October 6, 2010 at 7:34 am #

      Stevia is a good idea! More protein shake makers should jump on that one! 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Protein Products – Trial Begins! « Me vs. The Bulge - October 11, 2010

    […] 11, 2010 For a little while now I have been considering protein shakes and specifically whether they would be of any benefit to me. I train 6 – 7 sessions a week and am […]

Leave a Reply

