Finally Facing Frustration…

29 Sep

I’m frustrated. When I get frustrated I get cranky. When I get cranky I don’t want to talk to people. When I don’t talk to people, they ask me “What’s wrong? Are you okay?”. When I get asked that I want to bite peoples faces off. This post might sound a bit schizophrenic but I’m going to let it ALL out. Hold on – it’s going to be scary.

After writing the post on being mindful of your emotions I discovered that I am not *really* happy with my progress right now. I had a long chat to my Super Trainer today about what could be troubling me because I knew something was wrong but really wasn’t quite sure what. How could I not be happy? I have a great partner, great friends, great family, great workplace, great lifestyle… everything should be just great great great! But it’s not. Something is just out of place and I have finally recognised it as frustration.

I should know this feeling well but I have so much going on right now that I have seemed to ignore it. Or I have avoided it. But here it is, staring me in the face, like a big black cloud just waiting to pour down – frustration. Chatting to Nat today just made me realise I am not really happy with how far I have come because I keep focusing on how much further I have to go. Okay, maybe I’ve worded that wrong. Of course I am HAPPY with how far I have come but that happiness is overshadowed with thinking that I have so much more work to do. I just said to her, “I just want this weight loss part to be over. I don’t want to have to worry about this anymore. I know I will keep up exercise and eating right when I get to my goal weight, I just want this part to be over.”

I have spent all year working hard at myself physically and mentally and I am not nearly where I wanted to be at this stage. And I’ve hit plateau AGAIN. I loathe how my body works – why must this change take so long? Yes, I know that the slower the weight comes off the more likely it is to stay off, I accept how my body works, I know I’m doing this safely and healthily but still… frustration mounts. I’m only human you know!

But what makes me different is I will not SETTLE for being frustrated. I have got to come up with a plan to beat this. I don’t need motivation – I have it by the bucketful. I don’t need discipline – I can out discipline the toughest sensei. I don’t need knowledge – I know what I need to do. But I do need… something. I’m not sure what it is yet but I’m hoping the following goals will help me realise it.

Personal Goals:

  • Stop even THINKING about what other people are doing. I don’t NEED to care about them.  I have my own stuff to focus on and worry about. I find myself being overly compassionate at times when I just need to learn to back off and worry about myself.
  • Aim for more ‘me’ time. I need to start doing more for myself – beauty treatments, hair cuts and colours, massages, minx nails!  I don’t do this enough and I need to focus more on myself rather than just being in machine mode all the time.  I need to take time to celebrate and appreciate my successes. I also need to ensure I have times of proper recovery. I really don’t do this enough. So I have taken Friday off, booked into the hair salon and treated myself to an extra long weekend.
  • Start living more in the moment. I’ve got to let go of the past and stop looking ahead into the future all the time. I need to start thinking about the here and now and what I need to do to be the best I can be TODAY.

Fitness Goals:

  • 2kg loss by the end of October. No ifs, ands or buts.  I need to get into shorts for summer!
  • Intensity needs to be increased. I need to give 100% to every session. I know I can go harder so I just gotta do it!
  • Reassess eating plan for optimal FAT BURNING. I will be changing my food plan AGAIN (sigh) but when the plateau strikes you have to change it up!

I’ll post up my new food plan once I have figured it out with my trainer so ya’ll can have a sticky beak. Until then, wish me luck! I’m going through a rough patch and I’d love to have your support. J

What are your sure-fire tips to break through a weight loss plateau?

14 Responses to “Finally Facing Frustration…”

  1. Lola September 29, 2010 at 6:30 pm #

    I completely understand your frustration, I’ve been staying around the same weight for months now after an initial loss of around 4-5 kilos. It’s not that I need to lose weight, but I really would like to lose the last 5 to get back to my comfortable/short wearing self.

    I don’t really have any tips, but I can say that your blog has been one of the best motivators for my commitment to fitness 🙂

    And I’ve found just focusing on one day/workout/meal at a time and then ticking them off with a smiley face on my whiteboard at the end of the day. It’s really nice to see all of those smiley faces at the end of each week. Then I have been reassessing my workouts each week, by upping my weights and adding more time to cardio.

    Don’t know if that helps at all, I’m sure your super trainer will be very helpful though! Hope your week gets better lovely x

    • Amanda September 29, 2010 at 6:35 pm #

      Aw thank you Lola! 🙂 I just needed a massive rant I think. I spend so much time helping other people with motivation and discipline issues and offering advice here and there and everywhere that I forget about myself and what I need. My trainer is super. She’ll help get me out of this. I think I just need to focus on myself right now. Reading over the last few posts just cements that.

  2. Fiona Carmady September 29, 2010 at 6:41 pm #

    Hang in there Amanda you can break through this look how far you’ve come so far.

    You should be focusing on what you’ve achieved don’t look too far in to the future.

    Look at some old photo’s for visual verification and reward yourself with something nice (new gym outfit maybe).

    When I plateau it just makes me more determined to move forward and I find that I write down exactly what I am eating (no cheating – well only myself if I do) and increase the intensity like you’ve suggested.

    • Amanda September 29, 2010 at 6:47 pm #

      Thanks Fiona! Saw you today! Looking mighty fine! 😉

  3. katdoesdiets September 29, 2010 at 10:59 pm #

    Oh, I hear you…I so want to be done with the weight loss portion and try my hand at maintenance for a while! I get your frustration. I’m not at a plateau, but I have been. Usually changing things, like upping workout intensity, or type of cardio helps me.

    • Amanda September 30, 2010 at 9:24 am #

      I am just so mentally ready for maintenance! I’m there! Haha! This weight loss thing is just getting in my way. 😉

  4. PoP September 30, 2010 at 4:57 am #

    Use that frustration girl..ride it all the way to skinny jeans and a new body 🙂
    I recently hit a platue also. Happens all the time with my body also becuse I have PCOS. So charge t higns up I made a 12 week plan/ 3 month strategy. Week 1 down and its looking good.
    Our bodies love change and will respond in turn. Remember changing your eating doesnt haev to mean less calories if eating even less scares you .. 🙂 Upping your calories but training harder and longer is always an option.

    Check out my program…
    http://pursuitoflagom.blogspot.com/p/12wsu.html
    If you like 🙂

    • Amanda September 30, 2010 at 9:25 am #

      Damn PCOS! How sucky is it? I’ll check it out! Thanks PoP! 🙂

  5. Chanel September 30, 2010 at 10:13 am #

    You have my total support – I look forward to seeing your new eating plan! 😀

    • Amanda September 30, 2010 at 10:16 am #

      Thanks! 🙂

  6. Liz September 30, 2010 at 10:36 am #

    Hi Amanda!
    I haven’t been blogging for the last little while, but just wanted to leave you a message.
    I know you don’t want to settle with being frustrated, but just remember that it’s ok to feel it 🙂

    My tip would be not only to give yourself your ‘me time’, but to also switch off from thinking about training, weight loss, fat, food, etc. I find it really helps me to do this, and it revitalises me mentally when I do come back to it.

    Embrace the frustration- maybe try a boxing workout?? 🙂

    Liz

  7. Katrina Adamson September 30, 2010 at 10:44 am #

    OMG Amanda, you’re in my head! I can completely relate to your post today. I have had the worst attitude this week and am really struggling. It was nice to see that I’m not the only one who goes through these God-awful troughs.

    My plan is to just get to the long weekend in one piece and enjoy a nice relaxing couple of days.

    Peace out Sister! xo

  8. Amanda September 30, 2010 at 11:05 am #

    Katrina – I wanted you to know that I have been peeking in your head for some time now. I know what you’re thinking. So watch yourself, k? 😉

    Your plan sounds very good! We just gotta take it one day at a time. Live in the moment! Peace out! x

  9. Megan May 1, 2012 at 3:40 pm #

    I’m feeling frustrated with myself and needing inspiration so I thought I’d read through your old blog posts. So friggen motivating! Do you ever look back through your blog and think how awesome you are 😉

Leave a Reply

