Embrace the ‘Blah’!

27 Sep

"I'm so EMOtional"

Mindfulness in Everday Life

Today is a ‘blah’ day. They don’t come around as often for me as they used to… Definitely used to feel ‘blah’ more often than not! But it is a ‘blah’ day nonetheless and I am totally okay with that.

In my journey of self-discovery this year I thought that I should force myself out of bad moods. I was trying to push all negative feelings aside and only experience positive emotions. I thought that being upbeat and perky all the time was a quality that I would like to have (those who know me would scoff at the idea! Amanda! Upbeat and perky! Pfft!). I quickly learnt that this is a fast-track way to emotional suppression, definitely not a cool thing.

A lot of people are brought up to believe that experiencing anger or feelings of sadness are wrong. We are told as children (especially teenagers) to “Snap out of it”, “Cheer up!” and “Stop moping around!”. Suppressing negative emotions rather than dealing with them as they arise doesn’t make them go away it just makes them sink deeper down within you. Eventually you will have so much negative emotion built up within you that you will not know how to deal with it and that can result in depression and other health complaints.

I read in a magazine article recently about mindfulness. Mindfulness is about being aware of what is happening in the present on a moment by moment basis, while not making judgements about whether we like or don’t like what we find. It’s about recognising and accepting our emotions so that we able to be aware of what causes us to feel a certain way and how we can deal with it.

Rather than pushing aside feelings of sadness we should recognise our sadness and understand it. We can only experience true happiness if we truly know what sadness is. Rather than suppressing anger we should allow that anger to be felt so that we can rid it from our system (as long as we are not hurting ourselves or others in the process). Every emotion has its place and we should allow each to be felt equally.

So today is a ‘blah’ day. And I know that once the feeling of ‘blah’ is over tomorrow will feel even more awesome because of it.

Do you often suppress your feelings of sadness, anger or frustration?

12 Responses to “Embrace the ‘Blah’!”

  1. leashieloo September 27, 2010 at 2:42 pm #

    I typically lay my emotions on the table, so no, I don’t suppress anything. It makes me feel worse bottling it in. I find a good cry every now and again as therapeutic!

    • Amanda September 27, 2010 at 2:43 pm #

      I agree wholeheartedly! Let it all out! haha

  2. Chanel September 28, 2010 at 12:04 pm #

    Suppressing negative emotions is definitely not a good thing in the long run!

    I rarely suppress my emotions – I tend to let it out a VERY easily at times 😀

    • Amanda September 28, 2010 at 12:19 pm #

      I’m the kind of person who lets all feelings be felt and expressed! 😀

  3. Kathy Roser September 28, 2010 at 2:35 pm #

    I am hearing you.. have hurt my knee – dont know how.. so feeling sorry for myself and trying not to console myself with food while I cant exercise. Been to physio today and can start yoga back up today YAY.. hope our emotions are on the up & UP !! Cheers Kathy

    • Amanda September 28, 2010 at 3:53 pm #

      That’s no good Kathy! Step away from the cake! LOL

      I’m feeling less blah today! Actually, was feeling blah this morning but had a great circuit workout with my trainer and I now feel much better! 🙂

  4. Tina September 28, 2010 at 10:40 pm #

    What a great post! I agree that we need to be aware of how we’re feeling and what drives us each day in life. We should never hide from things. That only causes more problems.

    • Amanda September 29, 2010 at 10:41 am #

      Thanks Tina! 🙂 You are so right.

  5. Kathy Roser September 29, 2010 at 12:24 pm #

    Yep.. on the UP.. got on treadmill this morning, feeling great at work today.. all good here. Have a good one !

    • Amanda September 29, 2010 at 4:07 pm #

      Good for you Kathy! Well done! 🙂

  6. Danielle September 29, 2010 at 2:41 pm #

    I go back and forth. Sometimes I’ll tell myself to suck it up and move on. Sometimes I’ll tell myself that I just really need a good cry – and let myself cry/whine/vent/scream/whatever.

    Bottling things up, in general, doesn’t work for me longterm. A day or two, sure. I can get through a tough week at the office or stay perky and cheery when needed, but I always need to let it out at some point.

    Being mindful of our emotions – acknowledging what we’re feeling, why we’re feeling it and recognizing it’s okay to feel that way – is SO important.

    • Amanda September 29, 2010 at 4:08 pm #

      Urgh, I think I just need some ‘me’ time. Full stop. That should get me out of this funk!

Leave a Reply

