You Are What You Think

23 Sep

Source: stock.xchng

This is a lesson for me as much as it is for you. So let’s learn it together, shall we? Alright class, now let’s begin.

I’m going to talk about today about how you can free yourself from negative self-talk and gain confidence in what you do. I’m reading a great book at the moment called “Ultimate Confidence” by Marissa Peer and am gaining quite a lot out of it!

So many of the things that she says not to do are things that I either have done or still do when it comes to self-talk. For example, using overly descriptive words. How many of you have been in a difficult situation and have thought to yourself, “This is hell”?  I know I have. The situation is probably only just slightly uncomfortable so in order to turn this thought into a confident thought we need to change our internal dialogue.

When we use such overly exaggerated words our minds begins to believe them. If we think we’re in hell then the mind will truly believe we are in hell and our body will respond in turn – sweaty palms, erratic heartbeat, quivering. So we need to reassess – “Is this really hell or am I overreacting?”. Chances are it’s just something like a job interview, which is something you would need confidence for, so recognise that you can turn that thought around and your mind and body will follow suit. Change the negative thought into a positive – “This is a little difficult but I will get trough this” – and your outer confidence will shine.

This can be applied to many situations in our day to day life…

Exercise

“This is so hard. I’m dying. I’m never going to get through this! When will it end??? Oh god, I’m going to pass out.”

Change to:

“This is challenging but I will finish this and when I do I am going to feel awesome.”

Work

“I hate coming to this hell hole everyday. I dread waking up. Kill me now.”

Change to:

“Work can be difficult at times but no matter, I will pull through and do the best that I can.”

(If you can’t bring yourself to say this it might be time to get a new job!)

Flying

“I’m surely going to die. What’s that noise?! This is terrifying. Why are we dipping downwards?! Oh god no, we are seriously all going to die!.” (This is an excerpt from my own brain when flying)

Change to:

“I’m slightly nervous but I have confidence in my pilot and when I land I’m going to enjoy the best damn holiday ever.”

See how easy it is? All you need to do is catch yourself thinking those negative and overly exaggarated thoughts and turn them around. Once you are able to do this you will become a more confident person and be able to take on the world! Nothing will be too hard for you ever again! Awesomely confident to the extreme! Just don’t become an overly confident a-hole, alright?

In what kind of situations do you find your confidence lacking?

13 Responses to “You Are What You Think”

  1. Chanel September 23, 2010 at 11:59 am #

    YES – this is me “This is so hard. I’m dying. When will it end??? Oh my god, 2 sets left. Dyyyyying”. But then I DO feel good after the exercise, so I really shouldn’t exaggerate 😉

  2. Amanda September 23, 2010 at 12:07 pm #

    When you say those words in your head your body and mind believe them so why make a not so hard session the hardest thing you have ever done in your life? Switch those words around! 😉

  3. The Wench September 23, 2010 at 12:14 pm #

    Oh that is so good! I need to read this book. Thanks for sharing!

    • Amanda September 23, 2010 at 12:15 pm #

      Such a great book! It’s really helping me!

  4. Allie September 23, 2010 at 12:34 pm #

    I just did my first 6 mile run because I’m training for a 10k that I’m doing this coming Sunday and for the first time I just lived in the moment, getting really into my music, and I didn’t give any credence or energy to the thoughts judging how hard it was…I just let them go and it was SUCH an easy run I’m so surprised! The mind is a powerful thing!

    • Amanda September 23, 2010 at 12:56 pm #

      Well done Allie! Yes, it really is incredible what we can do when we put our minds to it. It can be hard at first to channel out those thoughts but once you find out how to do it everything becomes so much easier!

  5. Danielle September 23, 2010 at 1:00 pm #

    lol @ the flying comment. I usually hear that – except usually it’s from my bf, saying it out loud with a cheeky smile. *sigh*

    It’s the opposite way round when I work out. I’ll have the “omg – this is SO hard! I’m not going to be able to do 2 more reps!!!” going and Andrew will come right back with “You’re doing great! You’ve totally got this!!” and pump me right back up.

    (Thankfully, we go to the gym far more often than we fly!)

    • Amanda September 23, 2010 at 1:23 pm #

      Argh… flying! I wonder if I will ever get used to it! Scares me half to death! There’s that exaggeration again! 😉

      It’s so good that you work out together! That’s great! 😀

      • Danielle September 23, 2010 at 1:58 pm #

        You get used to flying after a while. You might still have little butterflies on bumpy take-offs/landings/turbulence, but butterflies versus almost panic attacks is a big difference. 🙂

        I decided when I wanted to join a gym, I had to get the bf to join as well. We make time in our schedules for it and it’s a great way to spend time together outside the apartment. Plus he’s a great motivator and makes sure I do the exercises and weights I might just skip out on if it was just me. He’s basically a (very cute) personal trainer that doesn’t charge me and I can sleep with guilt-free! ha.

        PS: Did you get a chance to try the banana smoothie last night?

      • Amanda September 23, 2010 at 3:08 pm #

        Haha! You’re sleeping with your trainer?! *gasp!* 😉

        I did! And it was AWESOME! It was verrrry soft though so will make sure I freeze the banana for longer as I got excited and only freezed it for like 2 hours. LOL

  6. Shellet September 23, 2010 at 5:46 pm #

    I definately do the “I’m going to die, I can’t possibly go any longer” routine, even though I have gone further before and feel awesome once I’ve finished!

    • Amanda September 23, 2010 at 5:54 pm #

      Definitely not worth thinking that way! We should start trying to feel awesome DURING exercise! 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Amanda’s TV Debut! « Me Vs. The Bulge – A Weight Loss Blog! - June 3, 2011

    […] You Are What You Think […]

Leave a Reply

