Chicken & White Bean Stuffed Capsicums

21 Sep

This Mexican inspired dish has all the flavour without the guilt! Even my husband really enjoyed this (although he had his on bread…). I made 5 servings so I could take some for lunch today. 🙂

I found this recipe on http://www.skinnytaste.com/ and adapted it to my taste.

At just over 300 calories a serving I think you will love these too! Serve with a side salad or some steamed veggies and you have a perfectly balanced meal.

Ingredients (serves 5)

1 brown onion (diced)
4 cloves of garlic (minced)
Chili to taste (paste, powder or fresh)
1/4 cup of fresh parsley (chopped)
Olive oil
Ground cumin (about a teaspoon or to taste)
1 BBQ chicken (skin removed, breast flesh only, shredded or you can diced and pan fry 2 raw breasts)
1 can of cannellini beans
1 cup of salt reduced chicken stock
5 red capsicums (halved and deseeded)
Light tasty cheese (shredded)
Salt and pepper

Preheat oven to 200 degrees celsius.

Heat a little olive oil in a pan and sauté the onion, garlic, chili and parlsey over a medium heat until translucent.

Add the chicken and beans and stir until combined.

Add cumin and stock and simmer until liquid is reduced. Taste. Add more cumin if needed. Season with salt and pepper.

Spoon the mixture into the capsicum halves and put them in a baking tray in the oven for 10 – 20 minutes or until flesh has softened.

Top each with a little cheese and bake for a further 5 minutes or until cheese is melted.

They are now ready for you to enjoy! Yum!

6 Responses to “Chicken & White Bean Stuffed Capsicums”

  1. Danielle September 21, 2010 at 10:33 am #

    omgthatlookssogood!

    The only thing holding me back from making that tonight is the 5 capsicum thing. At $10/kilo (at the cheap store) capsicums are crazy expensive right now. Of course, if I already have just about everything else, I suppose it’s not really that expensive a meal…

    And I know I could make it *not* in a capsicum, but look how pretty!

    Ok, I’ve talked myself into it. These will be on the menu this week. 🙂

    • Amanda September 21, 2010 at 11:09 am #

      Haha! Thank you for including me in on your internal debate. 😉

      Yes! Make them! Well worth it! 😀

  2. Chanel September 21, 2010 at 12:02 pm #

    Delicious! Definitely going on my to-make list! 😀

    • Amanda September 21, 2010 at 12:03 pm #

      So delicious!!! Can’t wait for lunch now!

  3. debbie September 22, 2010 at 1:52 am #

    Oh, those look good! I’m now re-thinking the meal I had planned for tonight…

    • Amanda September 22, 2010 at 9:12 am #

      Haha! Go on… You know you want ’em. 😉

Leave a Reply

