I Did It!

20 Sep

I had been nervously looking forward to the Blackmore’s Sydney Running Festival Bridge Run for a few weeks.  Yesterday, after the race, I couldn’t believe it was over.   I kind of wanted it to be longer!  Crazy huh?  But nevertheless I felt an overwhelming sense of pride and accomplishment.

The night before I went to a 30th birthday party stone-cold sober.  At first, this was quite difficult as everyone around me was quite tipsy (okay, some were a whole lot more than tipsy!) and I so badly wanted to chill with my friends and enjoy a couple of light beers (because that’s how I roll now, remember?).  But as the night wore on I realised that I could have the same amount of fun being sober and the feeling of waking up fresh and ready for my race in the morning was going to be so worth it.

My alarm went off at the disgusting time of 6am.  I remembered a time not so long ago when I would only just be getting home at that hour!  The thought now makes me cringe.  I showered, got dressed and packed some peanut  butter on multi-grain toast to take with me to eat on my way to the start line.  Yep – cold toast.  It was as unappealing as it sounds.

We got to the start line pretty early but there was still an overwhelming amount of people there!  People EVERYWHERE.  Stretching, limbering up, checking their iPods and going for last minute nervous toilet stops (I went twice!).  As we waited for the gun to go off the electricity in the air was palpable.

My Super Trainer & my Uncle / Surrogate Dad

Bang!  The gun finally went off and thousands of people all pushed past the start line.  I was really surprised at how quickly the crowd thinned out!  My trainer and my uncle both took off ahead of me.  They are both better runners than I and I had a fleeting sense of panic that I would not be able to keep up with them.  But then I realised that this was about me doing MY best, not somebody else’s best so I concentrated on finding my rhythm.

As usual, the first 2 or 3km were hell.  So many things went through my mind during those first couple of kms:

“Oh my god, I’m dying”

“That old man/child/larger lady is so much faster than me”

“Wait… what’s that?  Is my ankle hurting?  Oh god, no, please stop hurting”

“I don’t think I can do this… awesome, there’s an ambulance.  Fake an injury.  You’re out of your element here, find a way out”

“I can’t breath.  I can’t breath… oh shit, I can’t breath…”

“Okay get your rhythm, just shut the hell up and find your rhythm”

“You’ve done this distance before!  You did 8km on Thursday, for goodness-sakes! Stop being a baby!”

“OMG! I LOVE this song!  Yeahhh *sings* I wish I was a little bit taller, I wish I was a baller…”

“Alright, alright, this is okay.  I’m okay.  I CAN breath, my ankle is NOT hurting.  I’ve found my rhythm.  Let’s just enjoy the ride”

I think I have runner’s schizophrenia.

I pushed on and as I passed 4km I realised I was almost certainly going to pee my pants.  I KNEW I should have gone for a 3rd nervous pee.  I saw a lady with a large bulge in the back of her pants… pretty sure it was an adult nappy.  But since this option was not available to me, I was going to have to find a toilet and QUICK.  Luckily there were some just up ahead with not too much of line so I quickly got in there, did my business and busted out of the door running.

A great song came on my iPod at about this time, I got a massive endorphin rush (love that tingly feeling!) and I found a great rhythm.  I was really starting to enjoy myself.  Time just flew by.  I glanced at my iPod at one stage and I had been going for 50 minutes.  Wow!  I couldn’t believe I was so close to the end!

The end was in sight and there was a slight decline so I picked up my pace and bolted to the finish line.  The Opera House was in sight and I started to feel really emotional!  Music was blaring, people were cheering us on and I was grinning like a maniac.  I crossed the finish line giving a massive double thumbs up.  I hope the camera got it!  The photos aren’t up yet but when they are I’ll post the picture here.

I finished the race in 61 minutes which I was really happy with as I wanted to do under an hour and 15 minutes.

4 weeks ago I did 7.58mins/km so I was extremely pleased with this result!

Grinning with medal - school kid style

The Medal

Passed out on the grass afterwards... still wearing medal

I’m still wearing the medal today at work.  Haha, no, I joke, I joke… I wanted to but it didn’t go with my outfit.  😉

All in all it was such a great experience and I can’t wait til the 10km Run4Fun event in November!

17 Responses to “I Did It!”

  1. Fiona Carmady September 20, 2010 at 2:37 pm #

    Well done give yourself a pat on the back……you are the winner of the race in my book.

    • Amanda September 20, 2010 at 2:39 pm #

      Awww Fiona! So sweet. 😀

  2. Natalie September 20, 2010 at 2:56 pm #

    What an awesome achievement! So very, very proud of you…now take the medal off and let’s get ready for our next run

    • Amanda September 20, 2010 at 2:58 pm #

      Never! I am thinking of getting the medal tattoed on me. Classy, yes?

  3. Shellet September 20, 2010 at 3:00 pm #

    Hoorah! Nice work and a great time to boot 😀

    • Amanda September 20, 2010 at 3:01 pm #

      Thanks Shellet! Can you believe my 40-something year old uncle did 57 minutes? MACHINE!

  4. Chanel September 20, 2010 at 3:14 pm #

    Congratulations! 😀

    Bahaha love the internal conversation. I need to get past #5 😉

    • Amanda September 20, 2010 at 3:16 pm #

      Persevere! You WILL get there.

  5. Danielle September 20, 2010 at 3:16 pm #

    Congrats – that’s amazing!!! Are you still on a bit of a high from it all? I’m sure that’ll be huge motivation for you for a while!
    And I love your internal dialogue! Totally sounds like the way my brain functions, too. ha.

    It’ funny, I used to be the same way – thinking it’d be so hard to be the sober one when everyone else is beyond drunk. It really, really isn’t. Half the time I almost feel like I have had a drink or two. Maybe it’s just being around tipsy people helps you let your guard down? I don’t know! But I rarely drink anymore and stil have a great time when we go out. Plus, Andrew gets to enjoy his beers without worrying about how were getting home. 🙂

    • Amanda September 20, 2010 at 3:19 pm #

      I am actually! I know it’s not like it’s a half/full marathon or anything but it is an achievement for me!

      After a while I can just shut down all the thinking and enjoy my music. It’s just that first few kms! Death! LOL I’ll soon figure a way out to stop that too.

      Yeah I think you get tipsy off the fumes coming from other people. Haha! It’s amazing how different I am. I used to judge a good night by how drunk I got. Not anymore! 😀

  6. The Wench September 20, 2010 at 8:56 pm #

    Congratulations!!! You rocked it. I hear ya on the internal conversation, had the same one many times during races. 🙂
    Way to go and you wear that medal for the next week or so. It is perfect for grocery shopping and for the office. 😉 Nice piece of bling.

    • Amanda September 20, 2010 at 9:59 pm #

      Haha a bit of bling never hurt anyone! 😉

  7. thirtyandhealthy September 20, 2010 at 9:22 pm #

    Well done! I love that you told us your negative thoughts. I climbed a hill recently, it was only 2 miles, but it was pretty steep, and I was getting passed by old men and toddlers alike. I really didn’t think I was unfit, I’ve been going to the gym regularly for a year now!

    • Amanda September 20, 2010 at 10:00 pm #

      You should read one of my running like the wind posts! I had grandpas running past me left, right and centre!

  8. leashieloo September 21, 2010 at 12:14 am #

    Congrats on your time and completing the race! Your inner thoughts cracked me up but I’m glad that you spun it into a positive direction!

    • Amanda September 21, 2010 at 9:29 am #

      Haha thanks! Pesky inner thoughts. I will beat you to a pulp!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Dog Days Are Over! « Me vs. The Bulge - December 22, 2010

    […] ran my first 9km fun run and then ran a 10km fun […]

Leave a Reply

