It’s coming… Am I ready?

17 Sep

On Sunday I will be taking part in The Sunday Telegraph’s Body + Soul 9km Bridge Run.  Am I ready?  Yeah.  I think I am.  I was worried yesterday that I wouldn’t be though so the following transpired:

Me: “I know!  I’ll RUN to soccer tonight!  It’s only* 8km and that way I will have a bit of a practice run before Sunday!  And then I’ll play 40 minutes of soccer!  Yeah!  I am AWESOME!”

Trainer: “Yeah!  Do it!  You’re AWESOME!”

Husband: “You’re out of your mind”

* Yes, only.  It’s crazy to think that mere months ago I couldn’t run for more than 2 minutes at a time and now I call 8km “only”…
The hubby had a point.  Maybe I was out of my mind.  So I thought I would at least run half way and see how I feel.  I popped my iPod in my ears, strapped my backpack on my back and I set off.

I got to the halfway mark and thought, well, it’s not really THAT far away now… I’ll just keep going and if I need to stop, I will and I’ll catch a bus.

Then I got to the point where it was only another 10 minutes away and thought it would be crazy to stop now.  So I ran the whole way and did it in under 60 minutes.  I felt so proud of myself.  I was grinning like a bloody idiot when I ran the last few metres.

Then I burst through the doors of the indoor soccer courts and announced to my horrified team mates that I ran there! “Yes!  I RAN HERE!  Look at me!  I run now! Weeee!”.

My face was bright red and I had that dried saliva mouth going on but I was delirious by that stage and immediately launched into a stretch session to rival all other sessions whilst my team mates looked on and surely thought I was out of my damn mind.

I decided it would be in everyone’s best interests if I play goal keeper for the first half because if I ran right on to the court I would have probably had far too much energy and caused some damage to myself or others.   Especially others.  I was fired up.

For those 20 minutes in goals I was a machine (in my mind anyway – the reality was we were playing one of the best teams in the comp and they kicked our arses).   The bell went off for half time and it was time for me to go on the field.  This is when I started to really feel the affects of the run but I persisted and we actually played pretty well.  Instead of the usual 21 points they score against us, they only scored 17.  Yeah suck on that!!!  😉

I got home just after 9pm, made some toast for dinner, had a hot shower and crawled into bed.  I looked at the clock.  10:30pm.  Hmmm.  I was not tired.  Crap.  I tried to sleep and I think it worked for a while and then WHAM!  2:30am!  I’m AWAKE!  HELLO WORLD!!!  Urgh…   Awful.  I knew I had a Personal Training session in 5 hours so I just lay there very still hoping that sleep would take me.  Eventually it did… some hours later.

So, I got to training feeling like a wreck after my 4 or 5 hours sleep but I still managed a pretty good session and got the adrenalin rush again.  Showered, dressed and ready for work, I downed a piece of toast and a boiled egg and a decaf coffee (I don’t handle caffeine too well!) and was ready to face the day.  But I won’t be surprised if someone comes by my desk later today and finds me like this:

Except I’m pretty sure I’ll still be a woman.  I hope so anyway…

15 Responses to “It’s coming… Am I ready?”

  1. Danielle September 17, 2010 at 1:31 pm #

    haha. This post is awesome!
    I’m still at that “can only run for 2 minutes” stage. Ok, technically I did at least 10 minutes at 8 km/h the other day at the gym, but that’s hardly going to qualify me as a runner.
    It’s something I’m working on, though. Everyone keeps saying they impress themselves constantly with how much their running has improved. Inspiration!

    • Amanda September 17, 2010 at 2:53 pm #

      Haha! I seriously used to suck so badly. I can’t believe how far I have come! 😀

  2. Katrina Adamson September 17, 2010 at 2:38 pm #

    Amanda! You are a machine. Good luck in your run on Sunday – you will kill it! xo

    • Amanda September 17, 2010 at 2:54 pm #

      Naw, thanks dude! I am, after all, 75% machine! 😉

  3. Laura (starloz) September 17, 2010 at 5:34 pm #

    how exciting, you’ll kick ass!

    • Amanda September 17, 2010 at 5:48 pm #

      Thanks mate! 😀

  4. Founder of Changesational September 17, 2010 at 6:13 pm #

    Yes, Amanda – I think you’re ready!! Will be thinking of you on Sunday – good luck for the race. You’ve done the training ++ so you’ll be amazing.
    PS Have just found you on twitter (we’re on the same list) so I will check in for updates!

    • Amanda September 17, 2010 at 6:32 pm #

      Yeah! I’m ready!! 😉 I’ll be fine. Cool! Thanks for following!

  5. debbie September 18, 2010 at 5:20 am #

    So funny! Thanks for making me smile on a Friday afternoon (3.5 more hours until the weekend!). Good luck Sunday!

    • Amanda September 18, 2010 at 11:55 am #

      Thanks Deb! 😀

  6. leashieloo September 19, 2010 at 4:18 am #

    Good luck! I bet you will be just brilliant 🙂

    • Amanda September 19, 2010 at 5:43 pm #

      Thanks! 🙂 I did just fine! Can’t wait to see my official time but it should be under the 70 minute mark. Will blog about it tomorrow. Too tired today!

  7. Shellet September 19, 2010 at 7:44 pm #

    Awesome! I can’t wait to get to the point where I think “it’s only 8km!” nice work 🙂

    • Amanda September 19, 2010 at 8:23 pm #

      You’ll get there! Believe me. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Yay! « Shellet Wants to Run - September 19, 2010

    […] It’s coming… Am I ready? […]

Leave a Reply

