My New FAVOURITE Breakfast!

16 Sep

I am so digging this breakfast right now and don’t think I will tire of it anytime soon.  It’s so satisfying, full of nutrients and I love how it takes a long time to eat!  Eating slowly has many benefits.  See here to find out more.

Breakfast should be your largest meal of the day and this baby weighs in at 435 calories.

You’ll need:

  • 1 medium apple (diced)
  • 125g low fat greek yoghurt (or non fat)
  • 15g walnuts (crushed)
  • 8 almonds (crushed)
  • 2 brazil nuts (crushed)
  • 1 teaspoon of honey

Place apple in a bowl and top with yoghurt and nuts.  Drizzle over honey and then enjoy!  Super easy and quick.  There’s no excuses to not have a healthy and nutritious breakfast!

HANDY TIP: I place all the nuts in a zip lock bag and pound with a meat mallet.  EASY.

What is your FAVOURITE healthy breakfast?

20 Responses to “My New FAVOURITE Breakfast!”

  1. Tina September 16, 2010 at 10:41 am #

    ohh yum! That looks amazing. Will definitely have to try this combination, thanks for sharing!

  2. Fiona Carmady September 16, 2010 at 10:48 am #

    This looks fantastic I am going to try it.

    I had mushrooms on toast this morning with a little salt and pepper was fab.

    • Amanda September 16, 2010 at 10:53 am #

      Oh yum! I love mushrooms! 😀

  3. Danielle September 16, 2010 at 12:01 pm #

    Mmmmmm…

    My favourite breakfast (though I never have time to make it on weekdays) is an omelette with tomatoes, capsicum, mushroom, onion. olives and a little bit of cheese. Yum!

    I also really like protein pancakes. And natural yoghurt with muesli, coconut and some fresh fruit. Or poached eggs on gluten-free toast.

    Most mornings, though, I end up with a bowl of Ricies with some rice milk. Or a piece of gluten-free toast with peanut butter. Or a handful of almonds and dried apricots. Sometimes just a banana. *sigh*

    • Amanda September 16, 2010 at 12:14 pm #

      You need a better breakfast girl!

  4. Laury @thefitnessdish September 16, 2010 at 12:25 pm #

    l of the day!!! Sometimes I miss yogurt,,,,

  5. Chanel September 16, 2010 at 2:14 pm #

    That does look delicious! (I’d much prefer vanilla yoghurt though).

    My favourite weekday breakfast is currently (50g) All Bran, (300ml) lite milk, and a banana & a few strawberries sliced – love! Weekends is usually soft boiled egg/s with soy & linseed soldier toasts.

    • Amanda September 16, 2010 at 5:09 pm #

      You know, I used to be an advocate for the vanilla yoghurt but I am finding it hard to justify THAT much sugar in a yoghurt. I tried, I tried, but I just can’t do it anymore. 😦

  6. Katey @ Bonne Sante September 16, 2010 at 3:16 pm #

    Looks delish 🙂 Big brekkies the way to go – I wake up each morning and my stomach is demanding something huuuuge!
    I have a big thick smoothie each am at the moment – rice milk, frozen banana, chia seeds, spirulina, spinach & carob. Sounds bizarre, tastes amazing!

    • Amanda September 16, 2010 at 3:49 pm #

      Wow! That sounds crazy! Carob and spinach? Who would have thought!

  7. Lorraine @ Not Quite Nigella September 16, 2010 at 4:59 pm #

    That looks delicious! I like the amount of fruit and nuts in it! 😀

    • Amanda September 16, 2010 at 5:05 pm #

      It really is a great breakfast! 😀

  8. Angela (the diet book junkie) September 16, 2010 at 8:45 pm #

    yum…l LOVE breakfast. i always eat the bulk of my calories in the morning, dwindling down throughout the day. cereal is definitely my favourite, but i’ve been trying to eat more eggs because of the protein. i haven’t tried greek yoghurt, but i hear it’s good stuff!

    • Amanda September 16, 2010 at 9:00 pm #

      As do I Angela! It’s the best way to eat. 😉

  9. Heidi - apples under my bed September 16, 2010 at 10:47 pm #

    This looks delicious! I am a newfound walnut lover 🙂

    Heidi xo

    • Amanda September 16, 2010 at 11:17 pm #

      Me too! They are so good for you too!

  10. Underthesea December 29, 2010 at 8:45 am #

    I have a few – Our version of bircher muesli ( oats, natural yoghurt, milk, grated apple and some slivered almonds), or protein pancake with apple sauce…or scrambled eggs (one egg, 1/2 cup egg whites, some ricotta added right at the end served on a piece of rye bread)…or if I’m in a rush a smoothie with berries, natural yoghurt, milk and half a scoop of protein – yummy and filling!

    • Amanda December 29, 2010 at 10:25 am #

      I’m a massive fan of the protein smoothie at the moment! Yum! Those eggs sound great too!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Yay! « Shellet Wants to Run - September 19, 2010

    […] My New FAVOURITE Breakfast! […]

  2. I’m Ready to Kick ASS! « Me vs. The Bulge - October 2, 2010

    […] My usual apple, low fat yoghurt and crushed nuts combination […]

Leave a Reply

