Massages, Measurements & Melancholy…

10 Sep

Ahhh, doesn't this look relaxing? My massage was NOTHING like this!

Yesterday I had one of the most painful experiences in my life.  Oh my lord… I can’t even begin to express how much pain I was in.  Words fail me.  You see, I had a deep tissue massage combined with trigger point therapy yesterday, a new experience for me, and it HURT.  I howled, I screamed, I sobbed, I laughed hysterically and I also made some noises which sounded identical to the Bee Gee’s “Stayin’ Alive”.   The masseuse told me that I was probably the loudest person he had all year.  It wasn’t pleasant but it needed to be done.

I had such a build up of lactic acid in my body that my skin went bright red afterward and radiated enough heat that you could probably fry an egg on me.  I still feel quite sore today although it’s probably just my muscles trying to move into the correct alignment.  I’ll definitely be keeping this up and am committing to getting it done every 2 weeks because I really need to put more focus into my recovery given the amount of work I do.

The masseuse recommended that after I work out I drink a teaspoon or two of apple cider vinegar with a teaspoon of honey in hot water to help clear the lactic acid.  So I will be jumping all over that!   I’ve read that there are great benefits in drinking apple cider vinegar so you should jump all over it too.   Just a heads up.

Right.  Let’s talk results.  I had my measurements done this morning and to be frank, I’m not that impressed (what’s with the random gains here and there?) however I do recognise I can’t be a weight loss machine all the time. I have been losing though and my new diet seems to be really agreeing with me so I just gotta keep on keepin’ on!

P.S. We seemed to have stuffed up the mid thigh so need to take the measurement again next week!

4 Responses to “Massages, Measurements & Melancholy…”

  1. leashieloo September 10, 2010 at 11:47 pm #

    Oh ouch! Though I have to admit you made me LOL when you made that comment about sounding like the Bee Gees 🙂

    • Amanda September 11, 2010 at 1:58 am #

      Ah ah ah ahhhhhhhh! Lol! And I’ve booked in for my next one! Crazy. 😉

  2. Alexis September 11, 2010 at 2:15 pm #

    I hate having my pressure points massaged! It hurts so much when your already in pain from something else! but its got to be done I guess.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tried, Tested & Well Rested « Me Vs. The Bulge - March 1, 2011

    […] I still drink my apple cider vinegar!  I usually have it as soon as I wake up in the morning but you can also have it immediately after […]

Leave a Reply

