Fitness Test!

8 Sep

On Tuesdays, my trainer trains me and a bunch of girls from work in a 45 minute group session. It’s a lot of fun and we get very competitive with each other which is good because we all push ourselves to the max! The sessions go for 6 weeks and we just started our second round of 6 weeks yesterday.

We started off with a fitness test. In 6 weeks time we will do the test again and compare results. I love doing anything that involves being tested or anything that involves me winning something so I went at the test with a vengeance! I put my game face on and screamed, Braveheart-style, “IT’S ON BITCHES!!!”. Okay, so maybe that only happened in my head, but it was still on. Oh, it WAS on.

Test 1: How many step-ups could we complete on each leg in a minute?

http://www.womenshealthmag.com/fitness/step-ups-with-knee-raise

I completed 39 on the left leg and 45 on the right leg. Not bad, but not great either. I’m after greatness people!

Test 2: How many push ups could we complete in a minute?

http://www.ehow.co.uk/how_3190_proper-push-up.html

I completed 12 on the toes and 37 on the knees. I was pretty happy with that as the most on the toes I could do was 10!

Test 3: How long could we hold the plank?

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/beauty/article-1122742/Personal-trainer-How-perfect-plank-exercise.html

I held the plank for 1 minute and 30 seconds. I think my PB was 1 minute so again, pretty happy! One of the girls held it for 2 minutes! MACHINE!

Test 4: How long to complete 50 laps of the park (almost 2km)?

Seriously. This is what I look like when I run. Haha! It took me 13 minutes and 15 seconds. I can’t WAIT til I blast that time out of the water!

Test 5: How many tricep dips could we complete in a minute?

http://biggestloserclub.com.au/food-fitness/exercises/tricep-dips.html

I completed 72! I went at it like a freight train! I was determined to win! Sweet Jesus though, my back muscles are getting back at me today! OUCH!

Test 6: How many walking lunges could we complete in a minute?

http://www.fabulousmag.co.uk/diets/diet_itgirl_workout_issue_028.php

I completed 47. Was quite happy with that because my lunges, like my step ups, are quite poor due to my dodgy hip flexors. Like, who needs hip flexors anyway? Geesh.

Test 7: How many burpees could we complete in a minute?

http://www.askthefitnessdude.com/workout-of-the-day-burpees/

Excuse me burpees – I hate you. But I completed 21. Not bad. Not bad at all.

My body feels like it has been hit by a truck today but I think it’s thanking me because as of this morning I am only 1kg away from my mini goal of 75kg! I can’t believe how close I am getting. It feels fantastic. I’m starting to notice big changes in my body – muscles where I never had muscles, flatness where there was no flatness, definition where things were not defined! It’s a great feeling.

Challenge for you! Are you up for it? Give the above test a go and let me know how you fare! I would love to know your results!

23 Responses to “Fitness Test!”

  1. Chanel September 8, 2010 at 11:55 am #

    That is AWESOME! I am so keen to do this test, you’ve ignited my inner Braveheart LOL 😀

    • Amanda September 8, 2010 at 1:21 pm #

      Next Wednesday then? Haha

  2. Kathy Roser September 8, 2010 at 1:26 pm #

    Will give the test a go… may do it on weekend when I have time to recover..
    Congratulations on your goal.. I have been stuck on between 74 – 75 kgs for the past month.. Time to change it up I think..BUT WHAT !! started step class this morning at 6am instead of my dear old reliable treadmill..

    • Amanda September 8, 2010 at 1:35 pm #

      Well done! Just keep changing up your diet and your routine and you should see the weight start melting off. And don’t forget to take measurements! 🙂

  3. Bethany September 8, 2010 at 1:27 pm #

    GRAHHHHH it was FANTASTIC however I will be eating before our next session however due to me wanting to faint every time I moved and feel icould have done better then what i did.

    My bum is sore !!!!!

    • Amanda September 8, 2010 at 1:37 pm #

      Try eating something like a yoghurt, a small handful of unsalted raw nuts, a piece of low GI fruit or a rice cake with a little peanut butter an hour before!

      And yes! OUCH! Haha

  4. Stephanie Lee September 8, 2010 at 1:44 pm #

    Love the workout your trainer has you doing. I must give you tons of congrats on the pushups. The real ones (on the toes, manly style) are tough. I’m only at about 2… Bravo!!!

    • Amanda September 8, 2010 at 1:49 pm #

      Thanks Stephanie! They are super tough and I wish I could get closer to the ground when doing them but I’m working on it! 😀

  5. Tina September 8, 2010 at 2:03 pm #

    wow you are a MACHINE girl! I’m not sure I could get anywhere near those times or results. Congratulations 🙂

    • Amanda September 8, 2010 at 2:08 pm #

      Give it a shot! You never know your own strength or stamina!

  6. Danielle September 8, 2010 at 3:36 pm #

    I’ll give it a go after I’ve had a few more sessions in the gym.
    I’m pretty sure I can do a whopping zero toe pushups. haha. There’s a reason I signed myself up for a gym!
    Your results were killer, though! And they’re only going to get better. Keep it up!

    • Amanda September 8, 2010 at 3:39 pm #

      Thanks Danielle! Let me know how you go hey! Do a post about it. 😉

      • Danielle September 10, 2010 at 10:33 am #

        I will! And if I don’t, try to remind me in a few weeks.

        PS: You’ve got an award! 😉

      • Amanda September 10, 2010 at 11:22 am #

        An award?! Hey? Huh? Oooh! On your blog! I will read further! 😀

  7. The Wench September 8, 2010 at 9:02 pm #

    LOVE this test and your funny account of it. I so have to give it a try! Game on….

    • Amanda September 8, 2010 at 9:11 pm #

      Game on! Let me know your results! 😉

  8. Natalie September 9, 2010 at 1:49 pm #

    As the creator of this horrible test I’d like to say “Well Done” to all who are attempting it and those who have completed it. Remember anyone can do this, you just have to set your mind to it. There’s always room for improvement- that’s the whole point of it! Good Luck guys!

    • Amanda September 9, 2010 at 2:03 pm #

      Thanks Ms Awesome Trainer! 😀

  9. Tricia September 10, 2010 at 8:38 am #

    OMG! Joining a fitness group is an absolutely wonderful idea! You commented on my blog a while ago, and I am in kind of a weight loss uber-plateau. Once I get my crap together again, I am going to look into joining a group in my area. A good way to meet new people with similar goals while trying to meet your own. Keep up the good work!

    • Amanda September 10, 2010 at 10:31 am #

      You should definitely get into group fitness! So much fun and should lift you right out of that plateau. 🙂

  10. Shellet September 13, 2010 at 2:17 pm #

    2k in 13 mins is pretty good! I’m definately going to give this a try as I have no idea on my fitness levels (other than knowing I have a looooooong way to go!)

    And I look like Homer when I run too, I even have a picture to prove it 😛

    • Amanda September 13, 2010 at 2:22 pm #

      Give it a whirl! You might surprise yourself. 😀

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fitness Tests, Red Dresses and Reflections « Me vs. The Bulge - December 7, 2010

    […] see, I forgot to update you all on what my results were for the second part of the fitness test I undertook in September!  And I don’t remember what the results were either… I did […]

Leave a Reply

