Changing Things Up

29 Aug

I’ve been having some bowel issues. There. I said it. I’m pretty sure you all want to know about it. You wouldn’t be reading this if you didn’t. I just don’t feel… ‘right’. Bloated, uncomfortable, queasy and gassy… I would like to be none of these things.

So I had a chat to my trainer about it and we’ve decided I should try to limit my wheat for a while to see if that is the cuplrit. It could also be the copious amounts of dairy I’ve been having so I’m going to cut back on that a little bit too.

Breakfast will be strawberries or banana, low fat natural or greek yoghurt with walnuts, almonds, brazil nuts and LSA mix with a drizzle of honey.

Morning tea will be a piece of fruit and a cup of green tea.

Lunch will be garden salad with brown rice and tinned salmon or grilled chicken.

Afternoon tea will be hommus or cottage cheese with carrot sticks and a cup of green tea.

Dinner will remain unchanged so the usual protein and vegetables with legumes or steamed baby chat potatoes or brown rice.

After dinner will be a cup of warm mill with a splash of honey and vanilla.

I’m feeling good about the new changes! It’s very balanced and all fresh and tasty food.

Hopefully my belly will feel good about the changes too! Bye bye bloating!

What does your staple diet look like?

10 Responses to “Changing Things Up”

  1. myherohegel August 29, 2010 at 8:06 pm #

    I think that the dairy is likely to be the culprit, too. My bf is lactose intolerant, and it’s low-fat dairy that is worse for him than full fat- having more fat in it means your body takes longer to digest it or something and his stomach doesn’t react to it.
    Taking a lactose-free probiotic also seems to help.
    Hope it resolves itself!
    And after this weekend, I am not game to put up my diet after this weekend!! 🙂

    • Amanda August 29, 2010 at 8:55 pm #

      Thanks for that Liz! I so want me and dairy to work out… But if it’s not to be, it’s not to be. I’ll look into the probiotic though! Haha rough weekend hey? Get into that good food this week!

  2. Alixandra August 30, 2010 at 1:57 am #

    I live in the States so we don’t have morning and afternoon tea but I think that’s such an awesome cultural trend to have! Eating small meals through out the day is healthier than big big portions only three times a day. And tea (especially green) is so good for you with all the antioxidants, etc. I may have to incorporate the Aussy way into my life! 😉

    • Amanda August 30, 2010 at 10:42 am #

      You MUST get on board morning and afternoon tea! Eating small meals throughout the day is great for weight loss and maintaining a good metabolism.

  3. Danielle August 30, 2010 at 9:51 am #

    My diet’s all over the show! ha.
    Breakfast is usually a large piece of fruit… or protein pancakes (if I have time).
    Morning tea is a handful of roasted soy beans.
    Lunch is cut up cucumber, carrots, tomatos and some rice cakes with PB&J.
    Afternoon tea is some fruit. Or more soy beans.
    Dinner is some sort of protein (usually chicken) and veggies. Followed by some natural yoghurt and muesli. And possibly some popcorn later if I’m hungry.
    Plus a pot of green tea (about 4 cups) throughout the day.

    I had that awful bloaty, puffy, tummy’s-just-not-right feeling a few weeks back. Never sorted out the cause, but am feeling better. I hate that feeling! Hope yours calms down soon and you figure out the cause!

    • Amanda August 30, 2010 at 10:41 am #

      That’s so little for breakfast though Danielle! How do you survive! Haha! I try and make my biggest meal breakfast hence all the nuts, yoghurt and fruit.

      My tummy is feeling WORSE today. Maybe hormones? Maybe the bread I ate yesterday? Will see how the new diet goes and will let you all know!

      • Danielle August 30, 2010 at 4:01 pm #

        I know. I’m usually not that hungry in the mornings but need to eat something. Plus I like sleep, so I am usually rushing out the door so I’m not late to work! That said, my morning tea is usually consumed around 10 am. I tend to spread out my food, especially at work. Drinking tea and nibbling on a plate of healthy food throughout the day. Weekends usually get a solid 2 eggs and toast with OJ or a plate full of protein pancakes or french toast. 🙂 That and I eat pretty massive dinners. (So maybe I’m still full from them in the morning?)

      • Amanda August 30, 2010 at 4:09 pm #

        Oh I LOVE sleep! So I eat my breakfast at work. 😉

        I usually stick to the rule of – eat like a queen for breakfast, a princess for lunch and a pauper for dinner plus two healthy snacks.

  4. myherohegel August 30, 2010 at 12:56 pm #

    Just remember that if you’re going gluten-free to try and make sure you get lots of fibre in your diet through green vegies and such. A lot of people who ditch the bread and stuff end up not getting enough dietary fibre, which then makes your tummy all sluggish and sore.
    If you’re still having issues though, maybe it might be a good idea to see your doctor? I’ve had a whole bunch of issues with my digestive system in the past, most of which couldn’t be treated without seeing a gastro doc.
    Hope the new eating plan works out for you! Keep us posted.

    And I got the week off to a good start by having a Vaalia yogurt and a nashi pear for breakfast 🙂

    • Amanda August 30, 2010 at 1:22 pm #

      Yes, I’m getting plenty of fibre! 🙂 I have to be careful with having too much fibre though because it upsets my stomach also!

Leave a Reply

