Miso Healthy!

26 Aug

Get it?  Me… so… healthy?  I’m a word play genius!

I love miso soup.  Whenever I go out for Japanese food I look forward to the delicious salty broth that warms up your insides and gets your palate ready for raw fish goodness.  I can see how that sentence would not appeal to some but to me it’s abso-fricken-lutley delicious!

Miso soup is relatively high in salt so you should watch your salt intake for the day if you plan on having it (it has approx 800mg and your daily limit is 2500mg) however the health benefits are quite amazing:

  • Reduces risks of cancer including breast cancer, prostate cancer, lung cancer and colon cancer
  • Protection from radiation
  • Immune strengthening
  • Antiviral – miso is very alkalizing and strengthening to the immune system helping to combat a viral infection
  • Prevents aging – high in antioxidants, miso protects from free radicals that cause signs of aging
  • Helps maintain nutritional balance – full of nutrients, beneficial bacteria and enzymes, miso provides: protein, vitamin B12, vitamin B2, vitamin E, vitamin K, tryptophan, choline, dietary fiber, linoleic acid and lecithin.
  • Helps preserve beautiful skin – miso contains linoleic acid, an essential fatty acid that helps your skin stay soft and free of pigments.
  • Helps reduce menopausal complaints – the isoflavones in miso have been shown to reduce hot flashes.

(http://www.bodyecology.com/07/02/15/miso_health_and_anti-aging.php)

You can buy instant miso from supermarkets fairly cheaply although try to choose one with the lowest salt content.

They are really low in calories too!  I’m currently drinking Hikari’s Wakamejiru 12shoku which contains 28.5 calories and less than 1g of fat per serve.

A perfect accompaniment to any meal!

Sipping whilst browsing the VS catalogue

Do you enjoy miso soup?

7 Responses to “Miso Healthy!”

  1. leashieloo August 27, 2010 at 12:27 am #

    LOL, you’re punny 😉 And I also love miso, you can taste the health in the bowl. If that makes sense.

    • Amanda August 27, 2010 at 7:37 am #

      Haha punny. I like it! 😉 and that totally makes sense! Mmm delicious health.

  2. Laury @thefitnessdish August 27, 2010 at 5:40 am #

    Hey Amanda!! I am so happy that you came across my blog, thank you so much for your sweet and inspiring comments.

    I love miso…it’s one of my favorites!! I love how you added all the health benefit stats to this post too 🙂

    • Amanda August 27, 2010 at 7:31 am #

      Thanks for your comment Laury and you are most welcome! 🙂

  3. Chanel August 27, 2010 at 9:45 am #

    I think I need to get into this! Salty AND immune strengthening? Yes please 😀

  4. Ashley :D October 23, 2010 at 11:01 am #

    Hey I’ve been looking for someone who uses them. I have a packet in my hands, and this is my first try of using one, but the only problem is how the heck to I make it! Haha.
    My friend gave it to me to try but she never told me how to make it, and me not realising the instructions were in a different language I didn’t ask her.
    So If you could tell me how I make, just with boiling water or something I’m guessing, I would be extrreeeemely grateful.

    Thanks.
    😀

    • Amanda October 23, 2010 at 12:06 pm #

      All you need to do is just add boiling water and stir! 🙂 Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

