All Aboard the Green Tea Express!

24 Aug

I’m jumping on the green tea bandwagon.  I drink it occasionally, I enjoy it, but I think I can drink more of it.  A lot more.  So I’m making an effort to drink it daily and really give my body the chance to really reap the benefits.

Michael Merry posted a great article on his blog which pretty much got me over the line.

That AND the insurmountable amount of evidence stacking up that proves green tea is the drink du jour.

  • eliminating free radicals within the body
  • absorbs and blocks cholesterol
  • decreases the levels of cholesterol in the blood and prevents the process of oxidisation creating bad cholesterol
  • helps prevent heart related conditions within the body
  • works to normalise blood pressure levels
  • helps to fight bacteria and viruses
  • improves the condition of the intestines by blocking bad bacteria and increasing levels of good bacteria
  • helps to detoxify the body
  • helps to stabilise diabetes
  • can assist in weight loss
  • slows the ageing process
  • helps to strengthen the immune system

(http://www.naturaltherapypages.com.au/article/Why_Is_Green_Tea_Good_For_You)

And who am I to say no to the many benefits of green tea?  Some sort of idiot?  Oh, an idiot I am not.

Bottoms up!

Do you drink green tea daily and if so, what benefits do you experience?

9 Responses to “All Aboard the Green Tea Express!”

  1. Danielle August 24, 2010 at 9:08 pm #

    Every weekday I steep a green tea bag in a teapot almost as soon as I get to work and sip it throughout the day. Have been for about 2 months now. Not sure how much it’s helping my cholesterol, blood pressure, etc but I love it. I find it improves my focus at work and minimizes food and snack cravings. Plus I find it calming to just sip away at all day.

    • Amanda August 24, 2010 at 9:16 pm #

      Cool! Thanks for sharing that. 😉 I had two teacups of green tea today. Haven’t noticed any difference yet but I’m hopeful!

  2. Serendipity712 August 24, 2010 at 9:43 pm #

    I have been drinking green tea everyday for years! Love it!

    I agree with the previous post… it also helps minimize my cravings. I just have much more energy throughout the day. =)

    • Amanda August 24, 2010 at 9:56 pm #

      Oh good! I could do with some more energy. 😉

  3. Michael Merry August 25, 2010 at 9:44 am #

    “Premium Zielona z Imbirem”, by “Malwa”, a Polish brand, is my choice.
    {Green tea 61%, ginger 30%, lemon peel, flavors}. Drinking it 4 or 5 times a day makes me . I can work all day, then run my Jack Russell into the ground, on 5 or 6 hrs sleep. The green tea gives me that huge energy ..no doubt about it. It does feel weird, though ..being a 50+ guy who thinks he’s still a teenager.
    Terrific post here, Amanda! And thanks for your kind comments
    MM

    • Amanda August 25, 2010 at 10:32 am #

      Wow, that sounds like quite a mix!

      I’m a bit caffeine sensitive though so I’ll start with the 2 teacups a day and see how I go. 😉

      And hey, you are only as young as you feel!

  4. leashieloo August 26, 2010 at 12:46 am #

    I love green tea, have you tried matcha? It’s apparently better than the green tea in the bags because you actually drink the contents. I’ve yet to try it myself but it’s on my list!

    • Amanda August 26, 2010 at 10:57 am #

      Hmmm no I haven’t heard of that! I’ll look into it. Thanks! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. These Are a Few of My Favourite Teas! « Me vs. The Bulge - December 1, 2010

    […] this.  Nuff […]

Leave a Reply

