Just Taking It Back

18 Aug

Remember last week when I said I would run 3 times a week in the morning? Yeah, well I did it. And then after I did it, I burnt myself out, caught a cold and felt exhausted all week. Still do! So unfortunately I have not completed any morning runs this week. Boo hoo, I’m a terrible weight loss blogger and you should all waggle your fingers at me!

I spoke to my trainer and told her how I felt so worn out after adding the extra runs and she suggested that maybe it was just a case of too much too soon. She said that because I’m not a morning peson by nature I would probably just have to get used to it. Hmmm maybe.

To combat this we devised a new regime which will look something like this:

Monday – short run
Tuesday – group PT
Wednesday – one-on-one PT
Thursday – short run, indoor soccer
Friday – one-on-one Pt
Saturday or Sunday – 10km+ long run

This seems slightly more manageable and I could even complete the runs at lunch or at night if I miss it in the morning, therefore not putting so much pressure on myself (which I am prone to do).

So there it is. I put it out there, I took it back, I readjusted it and then I put it back out there again. Sometimes a little reshuffling needs to happen but I won’t let that defeat me! I’ll hop back on the proverbial horse and try again!

What new activities have you added to your exercise regime?

7 Responses to “Just Taking It Back”

  1. worldfromthisangle August 18, 2010 at 11:51 pm #

    I just did a great Glute workout this morning. It uses body weight instead of squats or lunges…which I totally prefer.

    Here it is in a nut shell: Mountain Climbers to warm up (45 seconds x 3), then Hip Extension (10-12/leg), Donkey Kick (10-12/leg), Fire Hydrant (10-12/leg), Swimmer’s Kick (30 seconds), and finally the Froggy Glute Lift (10-12)…repeat circuit twice, resting 45-60 seconds in between. Slow and steady is the key here…for all exercises except the Swimmer’s Kick, pause for three seconds at the top.

    I am still feeling the affects now…not the yucky, over-worked muscle throbbing that can often develop but the “My butt is tingling quite nicely now that I’ve honed in on it” feeling.

    • Amanda August 19, 2010 at 8:28 am #

      Ooooh yeaaaaahhhh! That’s a butt workout! I love a sore butt. šŸ˜‰

  2. Tina August 19, 2010 at 9:00 am #

    Weights! I was never a weights person but have added it recently and found a new love for them šŸ™‚

    • Amanda August 19, 2010 at 9:26 am #

      Awesome! The quickest and most effective way to body change is via weights. Lift em
      baby! šŸ˜€

  3. Mary August 19, 2010 at 12:51 pm #

    Hi, I’ve just found your blog and it’s great. Perfect timing for me as I have just started to change my diet and increase (read start) exercise. I read your post on diets which was very informative. I’ve only tried weight watchers and i’ve actually found it to be quite good. I would love to see a post on what we should eat. ie. healthy food pyramid, what serving sizes and how much exercise. There seems to be a focus out there on diets, but not much concise information about what to do to follow a healthy lifestyle.

    • Amanda August 19, 2010 at 1:36 pm #

      Thanks for your comment Mary! That’s a great idea – I’ll start working on a post now. šŸ™‚

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Simple Guide to Being Healthy | Me vs. The Bulge - August 19, 2010

    […] Me vs. The Bulge Skip to content HomeAbout Me!My Story ← Just Taking It Back […]

Leave a Reply

