How To Get Motivated

17 Aug

People often ask me how I find the time to exercise or how I find the motivation to.  When I tell people that I work out 6 days a week they gasp, “My goodness!  How do you find the time?” or “I wish I could be that motivated!”.

To me, it’s simple.  I make time and I make exercise my number one priority, therefore I’m always motivated (or darn near close to it – I’m human, I don’t always want to workout you know!  It’s exhausting!).

But I can understand that it can be hard for others.  So here are my own personal tips on finding time and motivation to exercise.

Before I can go on with that though, we need to address something far more important.  Your level of desire or “want”.

Now, it’s easy for people to complain, “Oh I really want to lose a few kilos!” or “I’d really love to just tone up a little!”.  It’s EASY to just complain about it and do nothing.  But I often think, if you really want something, then why not go out and get it?  The world is your oyster and all that jazz, the sky is the limit etc etc.  Nobody wants to hear your whinging so you have 2 options:

a) Do something about it; OR

b) Live with your body the way it is now and embrace life.

If you want to do something about it, read on.  If you don’t, save your time and energy, stop whinging about how you want to change, because let’s face it – you really don’t, and just carry on with life.  You will be much happier when you stop complaining, I guarantee you.

So firstly, let’s talk about TIME.

We have 24 hours in a day.  8 of them should be spent sleeping, 10 – 12 of them are spent either at work or travelling to work and then you have a lovely 4 – 6 hours to do whatever it is you please.  You could spend some time with family, you could cook dinner, you could sit down to watch your favourite show and you should STILL be able to squeeze in 30 – 45 minutes of exercise (see here for some ideas).

You just need to make time.  Again, if it is important to you, (and you shouldn’t be reading this if it isn’t!) then you will make time.

Personally, I sacrifice my lunch hour to go and work out or I do it early in the morning so it is over and done with before I start my day.  You just need to find the right time for you.

Secondly, let’s talk about MOTIVATION.

Let’s get real here – it’s not often that motivation just occurs overnight.  You don’t just leap out of bed one morning and say, “From here on in I will exercise EVERY DAY, I will give it 100% and I will never give up!”.  If you have done that, and succeeded, well done you!  You should walk around with an S on your chest because you are one bad ass mo fo!

If you are anything like me (a human who has struggled with motivation most of her life), motivation will happen a little more like this – you will work out HARD, you will watch your diet, you will remain positive and ready to accept change, you will stick to a routine for a good 2 or more months, you will begin to see results and then voila!  Motivation.

Once you consistently see the scales move (numbers declining, not inclining!) and your clothes start to feel loose you will finally feel that spur of motivation to continue.  You will WANT to exercise, you will WANT to treat your body right and you will WANT to have that same feeling of accomplishment that you felt when you lost that first couple of kilos or when you shrunk those few centimetres.  It would be most unusual if you suddenly went, “Right, well that’s it for me!  I’ve had enough of feeling good about myself! I would now like to return to sloth mode, thanks!”.  Seriously.  That would be messed up.

So motivation takes time.  But stick with it – all guns will be blazing soon enough.

Alright, so let’s recap:

1. Make time to exercise

2. Assess your level of desire to change

3. Make exercise and looking after yourself your number one priority

4. Stick with your routine and remain positive – change only occurs when you are ready to accept it

5. Motivation will come with time

I hope that this has been helpful to someone out there in the blogosphere as it has really been helpful to me.

What motivates you to exercise?


23 Responses to “How To Get Motivated”

  1. Natalie August 17, 2010 at 9:29 pm #

    Brilliant!!

  2. Chanel August 17, 2010 at 10:23 pm #

    Excellent post! Yes, no more complaining from me (well, gradually reduced) 😉

    My motivation didn’t exist, but I’m gradually getting there 😀

    • Amanda August 17, 2010 at 10:32 pm #

      Remember to be patient! It will come but you need to be commited. 🙂

  3. kittykitty August 17, 2010 at 10:52 pm #

    Great post!
    Once you start questioning your motivation, I think the battle is lost. So just sucking it up, and doing it even if you don’t want to, goes a long way!
    A friend of mine, when asked how she finds the motivation to go to the gym 6 days a week, just says ‘I just do it’. I think Nike were on to something!

    • Amanda August 17, 2010 at 11:18 pm #

      I totally agree with you kittykitty! And I also “just do it” but that attitude comes after months of mentally and physically preparing myself for change. Now exercise is just apart of my day! 🙂

  4. Shoesammie August 18, 2010 at 10:03 am #

    BRILLIANT POST!
    I had the motivation, I did really well. Then I got married in April and it got cold in winter.
    I have been bad very bad, I have hardly made it tothe gym or done much excercise but have done other things to help keep the weight off.
    But I do know that spring and summer are upon us very very soon… So, reading your post just now had given me the motivation to get my butt back out there, tone up and feel great again.
    Thanks!

    • Amanda August 18, 2010 at 10:13 am #

      Fantastic! My work here is done. 🙂

  5. cheekybutnice August 18, 2010 at 1:22 pm #

    I love this from Michelle Bridges, such and inspiration…

    http://www.facebook.com/video/video.php?v=142843752406254&ref=mf

    • Amanda August 18, 2010 at 1:48 pm #

      Thanks for sharing that! She is so right – consistency is king.

  6. Tina August 18, 2010 at 2:51 pm #

    Couldn’t have said it better myself!
    Motivation is something I have struggled with recently but am now finding the discipline to stick with my workouts 🙂
    I find a couple of things motivating: knowing that I am doing the right thing by my body; the weather warming up – it makes me want to work out; and also knowing that even fitness professionals sometimes lack but they get out there and just get on with it!

    • Amanda August 18, 2010 at 3:07 pm #

      Exactly right. You just have to get out there and get it over and done with. Too many people live inside their heads, “Oh this is so hard!” or “Oh this is so painful!”. You need to get out of your own head and let your body take over.

  7. hollypop August 19, 2010 at 9:48 am #

    i did a 3km walk this morning. yay!
    thanks for the motivation 🙂

    • Amanda August 19, 2010 at 12:21 pm #

      Yay for you! Well done! 😀

  8. Kara August 25, 2010 at 4:24 am #

    all completely true. I hate being someone who whines about thier problems and then doesn’t do anything to fix them – I’m working on it. Thanks for the suggestions.

    • Amanda August 25, 2010 at 8:03 am #

      It is possible to turn that around! Good luck! 🙂

  9. Lou January 18, 2012 at 9:34 am #

    Hi Amanda, what do you recommend for a stay at home mum to a baby who will not tolerate walks in the pram and living off one wage tightly and a partner who I’d gone 12-14 hours a day? I’m at a loss

    • Amanda January 22, 2012 at 8:23 am #

      Hey Lou! How old is the baby? Can you take the baby to the park whilst you exercise?

      • loolazen January 22, 2012 at 2:11 pm #

        he is 7 months with a very short attention span haha!

      • Amanda January 27, 2012 at 9:04 am #

        Hmm that’s difficult! Any chance of getting a babysitter?

  10. loolazen January 31, 2012 at 1:18 pm #

    Nope! 😦 Family are interstate, and the friends I have work fulltime, but also have zero experience with babies. Dammit! Maybe the blackmores things could at least be a start, I am all about a holistic approach

    • Amanda January 31, 2012 at 1:32 pm #

      Ah babe… I’m sorry! Not sure what to suggest. Hopefully the bubs settles in time. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Amanda’s TV Debut! « Me Vs. The Bulge – A Weight Loss Blog! - June 3, 2011

    […] How to Get Motivated […]

Leave a Reply

