Amanda’s EASY Tuna Bake

10 Aug

Every now and then I like to make this as a special treat – it is a little higher in calories than I would usually have, but by god it’s delicious! It really hits the spot when I need a bit of a pick me up. You know, the kind of food that hugs you from the inside.

I felt lousy today. Must be this early rising business 😉

This was exactly what I needed (followed by a hot bath and a warm glass if milk – yes, I’m still on the dairy train! Are you??) so I made sure my calorie count for the day allowed it.

Ingredients

4 cups of cooked pasta (shells, rigatoni or penne)
1 large tin of tuna
1 tin of cream of celery soup
1 tin of diced tomatoes
1 pack of frozen (or fresh) spinach, thawed
Grated light cheese for sprinkling on top

Preheat oven to 200 degrees.

Mix the pasta, soup, tomatoes, spinach and tuna together in a large bowl. Pour into a baking dish.

Sprinkle cheese on top until covered and bake in the oven for 15 – 20 minutes or until cheese turns golden.

Makes 5 – 6 serves at about 480 calories a serve.

Sorry, no pic tonight but next time I make it I’ll add it here. 🙂

3 Responses to “Amanda’s EASY Tuna Bake”

  1. Pamela August 11, 2010 at 10:23 am #

    Yummmmm…..thanks for the recipe! Can’t wait to make it!!

  2. Hollypop August 11, 2010 at 3:57 pm #

    If the healthy way you make it has 480 calories.. I am affrai to consider how many calories the way I make it!

    • Amanda August 11, 2010 at 6:05 pm #

      Hahaha! Well it’s all about portion control, using light cheese (and tuna in springwater for that matter!) and not being heavy handed with the cheese either. Also, it’s not great to use ingredients like tinned soup because of hidden sugar and salt so this is why I classify this as a “sometimes” meal. 😉

Leave a Reply

