Just Putting It Out There…

7 Aug

It’s high time I take advantage of how close I am to the beach so I have decided that for three mornings a week (Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays) I am going to run to the beach and back. It should only take 15 minutes and will be a great way to start my morning and hopefully it will improve my running style (or lack of!). I hate mornings with a passion so this is going to be interesting.

The reason why I’m blogging about this is purely because I know if I don’t put it out there, I simply won’t do it. I’m the type of person that can do anything if I put my mind to it but if I rely on just thinking about it, it’s likely that I won’t get around to it. So publicly announcing my goals ensures I am successful in achieving them. I think that’s true of a lot of people. You need to somehow make yourself accountable for achieving your goals. If you don’t have that accountability it will never get done.

I also need to visualise myself in action. How exactly am I going to complete this run in the morning? What am I going to do to make sure that it happens? I need to map it out in detail:

1. Wake up at 6.30
2. Quickly change into running gear
3. Plug in iPod (I love listening to feel good, high energy, bouncy hip hop when I run! Makes me feel pretty gansta. You know how it is.)
4. Exit house
5. Start running
6. Curse, grimace and glower at how early it is
7. Get to the beach, breathe in salty, fresh air
8. Sigh, smile and think – life really is pretty frickin sweet
9. Run back home
10. Shower and dress
11. Exit house
12. Hop on the bus
13. Get to work
14. Feel awesome for the rest of the day

Does anyone feel like taking on this challenge with me? Come on, you can spare twenty minutes/half an hour in the morning, I’m sure of it! Think of your bikini or board shorts! They are practically begging you to do it!

Comment below if you’re ready to challenge yourself!

P.S. I had to read over this five times and my finger hovered over the publish button before I finally clicked. It’s done now. It’s happening! Eek!

4 Responses to “Just Putting It Out There…”

  1. Irene August 7, 2010 at 6:58 pm #

    Ermmm ermmmm
    Ermmm i’ll tell u again later…
    Sounds like a scary but a fantastic thing to do

    • Amanda August 7, 2010 at 7:03 pm #

      Scary? Don’t think of it as scary! Just think of it as something that is now apart of your routine, like brushing your teeth! 😉

  2. hollypop August 10, 2010 at 12:41 pm #

    i want to. you really make me want to.
    but i like to be cosy better than most things. but less than i like to enjoy chocolate desserts.
    i am starting the couch to 5k this week..i swear.

    • Amanda August 10, 2010 at 12:54 pm #

      Come on hollypop! Okay okay, if you promise to start the C25K this week I’ll lay off with the pressure. 😉

Leave a Reply

