Dairy Queen

4 Aug

The dairy thing has been quite successful so far however I do admit it’s hard to ensure I get all 5 serves in a day! I can’t even begin to imagine how strong my bones are right now. Thank god, because strong bones are so in this season I heard! It’s so filling too – I often almost forget it’s yoghurt time or it’s glass of milk time because I’m not hungry. A good thing for me because usually I’m a hungry hungry beast! Rrrroooaaaarrrr feeeeeeed meeeeee!

I’ve lost a little weight on the scales since starting. My weight was fluctuating by 1kg before I started but it seems to have settled down into loss mode again and now I’m 77.8kg. Woo hoo!

I have also been paying particular attention to my calorie intake as, let’s face it, summers coming and I need to get my body bangin’ and quick smart yo! So that would be helping too.

And let me tell you, warm milk and honey with a splash of vanilla extract at night is beginning to pay off. I slept all through the night last night for the first time in I don’t know when. I didn’t even wake up when hubby’s alarm went off at 3.40am! Sweet!

Measurements are being taken on Friday so I’m keeping my fingers crossed for some good results there! Keep yours crossed too! K? Thx! Bye!

2 Responses to “Dairy Queen”

  1. Hollypop August 5, 2010 at 5:12 pm #

    Hi!
    Love your blog!
    Studies are a curious thing. I always take them with a grain of salt. who published this study? (more importantly who funded it?)For every study that found 5 serves of dairy has health benefits there is likely one that found otherwise. I guess I have become cynical as a psychology student. Plus did the study sy whether those people ate the dairy even if they weren’t hungry?
    Don’t mean to sound like a know it all(comes naturally) but I’d be interested to hear what you think.
    Hollypop

  2. Amanda August 5, 2010 at 5:30 pm #

    Hi Hollpop!

    Thanks for comment!

    I also take studies with a grain of salt however the dairy issue has been cropping up quite a lot recently in health magazines and online articles so I thought I would investigate and also put it to the test (that’s the skeptic in me!)

    In my original post about taking the challenge (http://mevsthebulge.com/page/2/) I posted a link to the study.

    I think the study is pretty credible and there is a lot of merit in the claim that dairy helps with fat loss.

    It seems to be working thus far as I have plateaued in my weight loss for a few weeks but the key is also calorie, fat and portion control as well as increasing dairy intake.

    Haha and don’t worry, I’m a MAJOR know-it-all too. 😉

Leave a Reply

