Chickpea and Salmon Salad

2 Aug

Drool.  I had the best salad for lunch today!  I wish I took a picture to share with you…  Hmmm lemme see… *googles*  It looked similar to this except it had feta and salmon:

Look delicious?  Try it!

Ingredients

1/2 cup of canned chickpeas (drained & rinsed)

5 cherry tomatoes (halved)

1/4 of a cucumber (sliced and halved)

30g of low fat feta (crumbled)

1/4 of an avocado (diced)

1/2 cup of parsley (roughly chopped)

105g tin of pink salmon

Lemon

White wine vinegar

Olive oil

Combine all ingredients in a bowl and drizzle over olive oil, white whine vinegar and lemon juice.   You can add red onion if you like but I prefer to stay away from onion breath at work.  😉

Total meal is just over 420 cals and full of low GI and good fats delciousness!

6 Responses to “Chickpea and Salmon Salad”

  1. Chanel August 2, 2010 at 2:13 pm #

    Yum! I do love my chickpeas haha 😀
    I think I’ll have this during this week some time – replacing salmon with tuna though!

    • Amanda August 2, 2010 at 2:17 pm #

      You do? I would never have known! 😉

      Salmon is better for a calcium (1/2 a cup serving has the same amount of calcium as a glass of milk) and omega 3 boost! Plus it’s so much tastier than boring tuna. 😀

  2. Glynis August 2, 2010 at 10:28 pm #

    that sounds delicious!

  3. kittykitty August 3, 2010 at 12:51 pm #

    That sounds amazing! I think I am going to try it with a can of 4 bean mix instead of chickpeas though.
    YUM!

    • Amanda August 3, 2010 at 1:04 pm #

      Yes! Why not! I love four bean mix too. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Simple Guide to Being Healthy | Me vs. The Bulge - August 19, 2010

    […] salmon and chickpea salad […]

Leave a Reply

