Running like the wind! Part 2

31 Jul

This morning I tackled the long run again that I did a couple of weeks back.

I downloaded the app Map My Run so that I could track the distance and time. Seriously. I don’t know what I’d do without my beloved iPhone. My manager told me about how his wife dropped hers down the toilet and I could have cried for her. Poor thing. I don’t know what I would do! Oh, woops, back to the running!

Turns out that the exact distance is 9.07kms and I completed it in about the same time as last time. I think I was slower on the way there than the last time but on the way back I only stopped briefly twice! I just pushed myself to keep going and got into a rythm. I was blaring my music and then this rush just came over me. My skin began to tingle and I started smiling manically. This must be the endorphin rush I had heard to much about but never really experienced (all I usually experience is pain!). I must have looked like a bloody loon but it felt seriously good.

As the starting point was looming in my vision I felt so proud of myself. I thought back to the days when I would hyperventilate from running just a short distance to when I ran around my block for the first time without stopping. Every little bit helped me get to where I am today.

Now I look forward to completing this run with only 3 stops or when I complete the run without stopping at all! I look forward to challenging myself to run further and longer.

My trainer/friend said to me, “Don’t you just love running now?”. Hmm, well if running is ready to get into a steady relationship with me, then I might find myself falling for it. The possibility is looking good.

Let’s discuss! What do you love about running?

4 Responses to “Running like the wind! Part 2”

  1. Chanel July 31, 2010 at 3:45 pm #

    I don’t love running at all, yet. But I will! I would love to run without coughing.

    • Amanda July 31, 2010 at 6:51 pm #

      It takes practice!

  2. Bethany August 2, 2010 at 2:22 pm #

    I just love running! And the sense of accomplishment I get after a long run! Put your ipod on and just go for it!

    • Amanda August 2, 2010 at 2:25 pm #

      Yaaarrrrhhh! Yeah I’m getting there! I just love how you feel after it. You’re all like, “Hell yeah! I just ran 9km! What do you think of that bitches?! Suck it!!!”. Does it make you feel violent…? Because apparently that’s what it does to me.

Leave a Reply

