Controlling Appetite and Cravings!

22 Jul

My friend advised me yesterday that she made a big pot of lemon, honey, ginger and hot water to help with a niggling sickness she had.  Later on in the day she asked, “Is ginger an appetite suppressant?  I’m not as hungry as what I usually am!” (she likes to turn to me for health advice.  I have no idea what would make her think I have any interest in this area whatsoever.  Do I look like I care about health and fitness?  Oh… wait.  Now I get it).

Hmmm I thought to myself.  IS ginger an appetite suppressant?  What else can be used as a natural appetite suppressant?  Would the woes of the world be solved by suppressing our appetites?  Well, I didn’t get that far but it did prompt me to confer with my dear friend Google on this intriguing topic.  Here’s just a few foods that I found:

Ginger

Ginger is good for:

  • Upset stomach
  • Cleansing the colon
  • Keeping menstrual cramps under control
  • Improving circulation
  • Regulating the metabolism
  • Regulating blood sugar levels
  • Improving mental alertness

As well at the above, ginger is known to be an excellent appetite suppressant.  Not only does it suppress the appetite, but it also controls it and keeps cravings at bay.  A fine reason to start brewing a cup of ginger tea a day, I say! You can drink it by the bay!  Sit on some hay!  Don’t delay!

Flaxseeds

Flaxseeds are a great source of fatty acids and offer a good deal of fiber to your diet.  Sprinkle some flaxseeds on yoghurt or cottage cheese and you’ll accompany the protein in these foods with slow-digesting fats to make a meal or snack that’s highly satisfying and filling.   Or as I like to say, satisfilling (patent pending).

Water

Often we mistake thirst for hunger and when we are feeling tired it is most likely that we are dehydrated.   Keep well hydrated to prevent hunger.  Aim for 2 litres of water a day.  Find water boring?  Add some lemon or try my new favourite thing of making up a big jug of fruit tea and keeping it in the fridge.

Apples

Apples are great at suppressing appetite as they are full of bulky fiber that expands in your belly making you feel fuller.  You could easily eat 500 calories worth of salty snacks but I challenge you to try and eat 500 calories worth of apples.  You would be full after the third one!

Whilst it is important during weight loss not to overeat and keep cravings under control (hello, defeating the purpose anyone?) it is also important to ensure we are getting ENOUGH food.   Small, regular meals throughout the day are essential in maintaining a healthy metabolism.

As always, I stress natural and unprocessed foods should be the foundation of any diet but why not chuck in a few of the above to help with controlling your appetite.  I’m such a hungry beast all the time that I know I will be!  Nom nom nom…

Question:

What natural appetite suppressant do you find works well for you?

4 Responses to “Controlling Appetite and Cravings!”

  1. Chanel July 23, 2010 at 1:15 pm #

    I love you ginger!

    Interesting info!

  2. Michael Merry July 28, 2010 at 1:09 am #

    How about the double benefit of ‘green tea with ginger’? For me its a fat-burning inferno, so I drink 4 or 5 cups a day.
    Green tea is a proven weight-loss promoter, and the ginger gives it a wonderful zing..

    Cheers
    M

    • Amanda July 28, 2010 at 10:41 am #

      Excellent tip! Adding honey as well would be an added boost!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. These Are a Few of My Favourite Teas! « Me vs. The Bulge - December 1, 2010

    […] touched on the benefits of ginger in one of my earlier posts however to […]

Leave a Reply

