Spinach Pie

18 Jul

A very simple recipe that has been passed down to me by my aunt. It always brings me happy memories of my childhood when I eat it. This is my first time making it and it turned out almost as well as what my aunt’s does! Give it a go – at only 390 calories per serve I’m sure you’ll love it too. 😉

Ingredients (8 portions)

Large bunch of spinach (sliced finely)
1 x brown onion (diced)
400g feta cheese (crumbled)
4 eggs (beaten)
Packet of filo pastry
Olive oil spray
Salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 180 degrees.

Wilt the spinach in a large pot. Whilst the spinach is wilting, brown the onion in a little oil. Mix the two together once done. Add the feta and beaten eggs to the spinach and onion and season with a little salt and pepper. Set aside.

Lightly spray a rectangular baking dish with oil. Layer half the pasty on the bottom of the dish so that it lines the sides as well, spraying a little oil in between every few sheets. Spoon the spinach mixture on top of the pasty. Place the other half on top of the spinach mixture, again spraying a little oil in between every few sheets. Trim the the edges of the pastry and fold it in.

Bake for 40 – 45 minutes or until golden brown.

Serve with lemon wedges and garden salad.

5 Responses to “Spinach Pie”

  1. Chanel July 19, 2010 at 1:21 pm #

    I would really love some of this right now 😀

    • Amanda July 19, 2010 at 1:23 pm #

      How funny you say that as I am eating it RIGHT NOW. 😉

      I have so much leftover. J doesn’t really like spinach…

      You can walk over to my work tomorrow and I’ll give you some for lunch. haha

  2. Chanel July 19, 2010 at 3:18 pm #

    Maybe I will! Maaaaybe I will. Much better than the remaining tin soup – I’ll swap you 😉

    • Amanda July 19, 2010 at 3:39 pm #

      Nah I’m good. No need for swapsies!

  3. francesca de leon July 19, 2010 at 11:01 pm #

    Making this!

Leave a Reply

