Running like the wind!

18 Jul

Yesterday I went for my first real run. Well, it was a jog. Well, I didn’t jog for the whole time but it was most of the time. Well, I didn’t actually jog at all, I just walked to the street corner and back.

No no, I joke! I totally went for a 1 hour and 15 minute jog yesterday morning! I went with my trainer/friend and we did stop and walk for some portions but we jogged for at least 70% of the time. It was a pretty good distance too! 8 – 10kms! I’ve never been able to run for more than 20 mins so I was really proud of myself. Sure, I was slow. Sure, I was whingey. Sure, I was in pain and thought I was going to die. But I did it, damn it! And to be honest, I can’t wait to do it again. Holy crap! Did I just say that? Who am I?!

It was such a beautiful day too. We ran along the coast looking over the water and that makes it all the more enjoyable.

There’s something so calming about running too. I was just concentrating on my breathing and my rhythm and everything else just floated away. Soothing. In an excruciatingly painful way.

I was glad to see the end of it though! Because that meant breakfast time! I ordered a vegetarian breakfast of poached eggs, toast, tomato, spinach, mushroom and a hashbrown. Pure deliciousness.

I always talk about how much I hate running but I may just be converted. Watch this space!

4 Responses to “Running like the wind!”

  1. JOANN July 18, 2010 at 12:56 pm #

    you go girl!

    • Amanda July 18, 2010 at 1:00 pm #

      Thanks Joann! I will go! But first I need to rest. That jogging business makes your ass sore. šŸ˜‰

  2. Chanel July 19, 2010 at 1:17 pm #

    Woohoo! That is indeed awesome! šŸ˜€

    • Amanda July 19, 2010 at 1:26 pm #

      I’m quite sore in the back of my hips today! Big stretch required tonight.

Leave a Reply

