Fantastic, phenomenal and exciting news!

6 Jul

When I was sick some 6 weeks ago my thyroid gland swelled to the size of a large walnut. I had a blood test and a ultrasound at the time to check for an abnormal activity and everything came back good so that was a relief! The Doctor did ask that I keep an eye on it and come back in a month or so for a check up.

Over the past few weeks I’ve felt a bit out of sorts. A bit sluggish and run down so thought it was best to go back and get that check up. I was also interested to see if my fasting glucose levels had come back down from mildly resistant.

So off to the Doctor I went and had my blood tests. I got the results last night and was relieved to find that the thyroid came back normal again (still need to keep an eye on it though!). I was also happy that everything else was perfect – liver, iron, blood count and cholesterol.

But the most exciting news was that my fasting glucose levels had come down from 5.6 (mild resistance) to 5.1! Woo hoo! Now by no means does that equate to me being able to shove my face with cake. What it does mean that due to my weight loss (just shy of 10kg since last year and the last glucose test) and sticking to a healthy low GI I was able to vastly decrease my chances of getting diabetes and also assist in keeping my PCOS under control.

Slowly slowly more weight has been coming off. I’m 3.3kg off my next weight goal. I should be getting my measurements taken again this week so I’ll post the results of that here.

So take a picture people! This is what perfect health looks like! Haha! Now if I could only figure out the secret to not being so bloody tired all the time I’ll be right as rain! Zzzzzzzz…

7 Responses to “Fantastic, phenomenal and exciting news!”

  1. Chanel July 6, 2010 at 1:47 pm #

    Woooohoooo!

    Awesome news! So healthy right now 😀

    • Amanda July 6, 2010 at 2:49 pm #

      I know, right?! Yay! 😀

  2. worldfromthisangle July 7, 2010 at 1:51 pm #

    Way to go! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Treading a Thin Line « Me vs. The Bulge - October 18, 2010

    […] couple of months ago a Doctors check-up revealed that I was no longer in the ‘danger zone’ for diabetes.  This news was awesome but not for a second did I think, “Great!  Now I can just settle into a […]

  2. Fitness Tests, Red Dresses and Reflections « Me vs. The Bulge - December 7, 2010

    […] was diagnosed with mild insulin resistance and PCOS and I’m happy to report that I conquered insulin resistance earlier this year and my PCOS is now under control.  That was my main goal this year and I […]

  3. The Dog Days Are Over! « Me vs. The Bulge - December 22, 2010

    […] I overcame insulin resistance […]

Leave a Reply

